We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every Hotel Should Have a PETER on reception!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Penzance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Penzance
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Every Hotel Should Have a PETER on reception!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have just returned from a three night visit to this hotel. The reason for our visit was our wedding anniversay. We were greeted by Peter (Guest Relations) who was so exceptionally nice and friendly. He gave us a tour of the hotel and showed us to our room (carrying one of the cases). We had been upgraded to a room (No18) with a sea view looking towards the harbour and town. Between 5-6pm there were half price cocktails which we thoroughly enjoyed. On the second night we were offered complimentary sparkling wine or cocktails because of our anniversay. We ate two nights in their Bay Restaurant. The food was cooked to perfection and the chef is to be congratulated for his expert cooking skills. Breakfast is also wonderful!! There is also complimentary tea & cakes in the lounges between 3-5pm. You can sit in front of a lovely fire, perfect!!!
Every member of staff is polite and helpful.The housekeeping staff were so friendly and cleaned our room/bathroom to absolutely spotless. But for me Peter is the hotels real gem. Friendly, helpful, funny and just a joy to be in the company of.
Well done everybody at Hotel Penzance. We would love to return again soon.

Room Tip: Room with seaview is excellent. No road noise at all. Couldn't hear the restaurant below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magsHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    190
    62
    22
    14
See reviews for
79
476
84
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

From the first moment we stepped through the door we were greeted with smiles, and while the food being nouveau cuisine, was not to my taste, as I believe it is normally an excuse to give small portions, it was quite tasty. The accommodation and general service was delightful and I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Do find a room with a view of the sea. It will cost you roughly £20 more, but bworth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel at least 8 times, mainly in the winter we are looking forward to going this summer with friends. The location is perfect and views amazing.

The friendly staff have a "nothing is to much" attitude, rooms are spacious and very clean.

We have for the last 3 years stayed on New year's eve and each year they have had different entertainment all great and really enjoyed the night.

The owners and management (Peter) make you feel at home as soon as you get there and would definately recomend the Bay Resturant at the hotel the food is excellent!

Mr & Mrs C Davis

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here last year, after grabbing a very good deal through a Time Out offer. The hotel was very quiet and we were upgraded instantly to a room with a fantastic view of St Michael's Mount. We found the rooms cosy, comfortable and furnished to a high standard. The hotel itself is set in a grand old house on hill with beautiful shared rooms and a really good restaurant. We chose to eat there one evening and my boyfriend, having been to some pretty reputable steak restaurants in London & LA, proclaims his steak to have been the best he's ever had. The staff were really friendly at all times. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llalpaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have reviewed before. In my view, the only Hotel in Penzance to stay at, or to enjoy (Non Residence) The Bay Restaurant, for Breakfast, Lunch or supper. Re-opening on the Jan 18th, after major decor, alterations. Walk in the door to reception, and you will see stunning Art Nouveau, specially commisioned reception furniture.
Previous guests will be delighted. It says something about the Hotel. I cannot over reccomend the Hotel for its delightful atmosphere, along with quite excellent food.
For those who have never been there, just try it out. Rob Harding.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here over New Year's Eve and New Year's Day - this hotel certainly has great style. We stayed in a superior room which was very comfortable and had the most amazing view of the harbour and out to sea. We had a great time seeing in the New Year with other guests and were very well entertained as well as royally fed. Our wake up on NYD was a little earlier than expected but then what can you do if another guest burns the toast and the fire alarm goes off!! We liked the hotel's individuality and it had a touch of class when it came to decor. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Buy the best room you can afford as those with a sea view are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brisfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

In the pre-Christmas period my son and I were stranded in Penzance for 2 nights because our flight to The Isles of Scilly was cancelled due to bad weather. We had travelled a long way through appauling weather, had little sleep and were tired out. How glad we were therefore, to be able to find accommodation at Hotel Penzance in a twin room for a 2 night stay on 22nd and 23rd December. We were given the warmest of welcomes by Peter and the Receptionist, who could not have been more helpful and caring. We were given a surprise upgrade, which really cheered our spirits, as did the complimentary afternoon tea served in the Lounge. Our room was lovely, most comfortable and clean, and was serviced to a high standard throughout our stay. We decided to dine in on Saturday evening, and were treated to a delicious meal in the hotel Restaurant. Staff were attentive and professional, and the food was excellent. My Monkfish main course was particularly good, with subtle flavours in the mussels and the Mackerel cream complimenting the fish. The Chef has imagination and subtlety, and is to be congratulated. Breakfast was again very good, plenty of choice and once more, good service from the Restaurant Staff. On the morning of our departure we asked for a Continental Breakfast in our room, delivered at 05:30hrs, which was delivered promptly, and provided us with a good start to our ongoing journey.
We appreciated very much the kindness and attentiveness of Peter and his staff, particularly when we arrived somewhat distressed and very tired, but they made us so welcome we were soon relaxed, and of all the places we could have been stranded, we really could not have done better. The lounges are comfortable and cozy, with plenty of reading matter to sit and relax with in front of the fire.
We thought our accommodation was value for money, and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to fellow travellers, or indeed to stay there again ourselves. Peter and his staff are very proud of Hotel Penzance, and rightly so. A & M Wilson

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.8 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
6.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penzance

Property: Hotel Penzance
Address: Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penzance 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star independent Town House Hotel. Converted from 2 Edwardian merchant's houses and perched on a hill overlooking the busy Penzance waterfront and harbour. 25 individual rooms over 3 floors with warmth, comfort and service a priority. Open all year with a 2 rosette restaurant - The Bay Penzance - Ideally situated for all the sites of West Cornwall from The Lizard to St Ives and the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penzance Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing