We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cut above the rest in Penzance”
Review of Hotel Penzance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Penzance
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cut above the rest in Penzance”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here last year, after grabbing a very good deal through a Time Out offer. The hotel was very quiet and we were upgraded instantly to a room with a fantastic view of St Michael's Mount. We found the rooms cosy, comfortable and furnished to a high standard. The hotel itself is set in a grand old house on hill with beautiful shared rooms and a really good restaurant. We chose to eat there one evening and my boyfriend, having been to some pretty reputable steak restaurants in London & LA, proclaims his steak to have been the best he's ever had. The staff were really friendly at all times. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llalpaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    203
    65
    23
    14
See reviews for
81
495
84
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penzance
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have reviewed before. In my view, the only Hotel in Penzance to stay at, or to enjoy (Non Residence) The Bay Restaurant, for Breakfast, Lunch or supper. Re-opening on the Jan 18th, after major decor, alterations. Walk in the door to reception, and you will see stunning Art Nouveau, specially commisioned reception furniture.
Previous guests will be delighted. It says something about the Hotel. I cannot over reccomend the Hotel for its delightful atmosphere, along with quite excellent food.
For those who have never been there, just try it out. Rob Harding.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here over New Year's Eve and New Year's Day - this hotel certainly has great style. We stayed in a superior room which was very comfortable and had the most amazing view of the harbour and out to sea. We had a great time seeing in the New Year with other guests and were very well entertained as well as royally fed. Our wake up on NYD was a little earlier than expected but then what can you do if another guest burns the toast and the fire alarm goes off!! We liked the hotel's individuality and it had a touch of class when it came to decor. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Buy the best room you can afford as those with a sea view are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brisfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

In the pre-Christmas period my son and I were stranded in Penzance for 2 nights because our flight to The Isles of Scilly was cancelled due to bad weather. We had travelled a long way through appauling weather, had little sleep and were tired out. How glad we were therefore, to be able to find accommodation at Hotel Penzance in a twin room for a 2 night stay on 22nd and 23rd December. We were given the warmest of welcomes by Peter and the Receptionist, who could not have been more helpful and caring. We were given a surprise upgrade, which really cheered our spirits, as did the complimentary afternoon tea served in the Lounge. Our room was lovely, most comfortable and clean, and was serviced to a high standard throughout our stay. We decided to dine in on Saturday evening, and were treated to a delicious meal in the hotel Restaurant. Staff were attentive and professional, and the food was excellent. My Monkfish main course was particularly good, with subtle flavours in the mussels and the Mackerel cream complimenting the fish. The Chef has imagination and subtlety, and is to be congratulated. Breakfast was again very good, plenty of choice and once more, good service from the Restaurant Staff. On the morning of our departure we asked for a Continental Breakfast in our room, delivered at 05:30hrs, which was delivered promptly, and provided us with a good start to our ongoing journey.
We appreciated very much the kindness and attentiveness of Peter and his staff, particularly when we arrived somewhat distressed and very tired, but they made us so welcome we were soon relaxed, and of all the places we could have been stranded, we really could not have done better. The lounges are comfortable and cozy, with plenty of reading matter to sit and relax with in front of the fire.
We thought our accommodation was value for money, and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to fellow travellers, or indeed to stay there again ourselves. Peter and his staff are very proud of Hotel Penzance, and rightly so. A & M Wilson

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for four nights over New Year. After the first night we asked to change rooms since our first room was so small - not even a chest of drawers to put clothes in and hardly any space to move about. Also the hotel has been partitioned and partitioned into so many rooms, with the thinnest plaster boarding that EVERY sound is audible from the rooms not only adjoining but along the narrow corridors. Our second room was much larger but on the first night, when I went to take a shower I took the bathmat off the side of the bath and discovered it was heavily soiled with human waste! Someone came to clear up the awful mess, but we never received any explanation as to how this could have happened, no one mentioned it, apart from a box of chocolates put in the room with a note saying "hope the rest of your holiday isn't so stressful".. Also the the first time I climbed up the many stairs to the second floor (no lift in the hotel) I reached out to hold onto the bannisters and one of the rails came away in my hand. This hotel seems to trade on its regular repeat visitors but the standard of customer service we received was non existent in respect of the disgusting episode of the soiled bath towel - not even an apology. The hotel is pleasant enough downstairs but the bedrooms leave a lot to be desired and it is overpriced. It is not always possible to park on the hotel's forecourt. The only redeeming feature was the food, but it was expensive and very small portions.

Room Tip: the hotel is like a rabbit warren and most of the rooms have thin partitioned walls and are noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We are terribly sorry that this guest did not have a positive experience when she stayed with us. We are very happy to say that this is not a typical reaction from our guests, and we hope that trip advisor users will read the many glowing reviews, several of them from this same time period, before drawing any conclusions. 8 out of ten reviewers give us 5 stars, mentioning cleanliness, high standards of customer service and food as all being highlights.
With regard to cleanliness, our hotel policy is to clean all rooms thoroughly, with a senior management inspection before they are cleared for guest use. In fact, this particular room had had a guest with a dog in it previously, and consequently the room had undergone an additional deep cleansing to ensure it was spotless. As the majority of our reviewers say, the cleanliness of our hotel is exemplary. We are devastated by the occurrence the reviewer mentions. The hotel of course accepts responsibility and apologised sincerly and immediately to the guests who declared themselves satisfied that the matter would be thoroughly investigated. Chocolates and wine were also left in addition, but there is no rational explanation for it, and we are mystified as to how such a thing could have happened in a room which had been deep-cleaned and quality checked.
The Hotel is housed in a pair of Edwardian merchant's houses, and part of its charm is that the character and shape of the original rooms have been maintained as much as possible.
Come and see us and judge for yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Last year we spent New Year at Penzance Hotel and it was a happy and memorable visit in every way. So this year we went as a family party of five (all grown ups) for five days over Christmas. The Hotel and Bay Restaurant fulfilled all our expectations and was in our opinion excellent value. Peter (manages the hotel) and Tony (manages the restaurant) were wonderful warm hearted hosts. They are a great double act, and they made us hugely welcome throughout our stay. The hotel was warm and pleasant and festive, and the restaurant served consistently excellent meals - breakfast, lunches and dinners, including terrific Christmas Eve and Christmas meals. And our room had wonderful views over the sea on one side to St Michaels Mount and on the other over Penzance and the harbour.
One of us was unwell (from antibiotics) and the hotel staff looked after her with great kindness and care. All the staff in the hotel and the restaurant were pleasant, professional and caring. They gave us a great salad when we arrived late and were flexible about times for meals.
A very special hotel, so nice that we have no wish to find fault with it.

Room Tip: Room 17 is excellent with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were booking for 2 nights over new years eve. Tried a few other places but they were all booked up. Wanted somewhere nice to stay, and paid more than we wanted to for this hotel based on some but not all the other reviews.
We paid £135 a night for a twin room. The room was very small with two single beds. There was a cupboard but our suitcases remained pushed under a desk on the floor. There was really no space. Had a premier inn been available we would have saved a lot and had the same quality of room.
The staff were friendly and polite at all times, and the breakfast was faultless, but these really are the only 2 positives.
The car park was a problem and could not hold enough cars for the hotel, and parking on the street outside can be a few mins walk away at least as it is a residential area.
We had friends staying in other places around town which we visited and were paying less, and we really did feel we had the bad end of the deal when comparing these.
Really unpleasant to be woken up at 9.20am on New Years day by the fire alarm going off in the hotel - which was not mentioned and no apology made - although others were woken as it was talked about over breakfast.
Would certainly stay somewhere else next time purely for value for money reasons, and the choices available in the area. Would just have to get organised earlier and get somewhere booked to avoid any future disapointment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
As I'm sure everyone realises, New Year's Eve is a fabulously special festival, and we work hard to provide a warm and entertaining event every year. This year there was an American tasting banquet and a Las Vegas Swing singer as cabaret into the early hours and the hotel was full. If you require B&B only and a pub will do, there are some great ones in Penzance offering just what will suit you, but as you discovered, when they are fully booked you may find yourself outside your comfort zone. However, at peak time of year our prices reflect our costs, and Penzance having only 3 hotels quickly gets booked up. We upgraded you to a room with a sea view thinking this would appeal to you, but yes, it was smaller than the non- sea view one you booked, if you had said anything, staff would have tried to relocate you. There was no reason for you not to unpack use the wardrobe & shelves provided, and staff would happily have stored your bags in our luggage store.
In common with many hotels in towns, parking is problematic, made worse when in a Cornish town, but we have parking for 13 cars, [25 rooms] unrestriced on street parking, and a public pay and display car park 300m away.
With ref the fire alarm. Someone taking breakfast burned their toast which set it off. After swiftly ascertaining the cause the alarm was deactivated, and the duty staff apologised and explained what had happened to everyone who had begun evacuation. It being New Year's Day, it didn't seem appropriate to knock on the doors of guests who didn't appear and disturb them further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.8 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
470 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
226 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
5.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
23.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penzance

Property: Hotel Penzance
Address: Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penzance 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star independent Town House Hotel. Converted from 2 Edwardian merchant's houses and perched on a hill overlooking the busy Penzance waterfront and harbour. 25 individual rooms over 3 floors with warmth, comfort and service a priority. Open all year with a 2 rosette restaurant - The Bay Penzance - Ideally situated for all the sites of West Cornwall from The Lizard to St Ives and the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penzance Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing