We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Penzance
Nearby Hotels
$203
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marazion Hotel(Marazion)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Hotel(Carbis Bay)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$409
$315
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tregenna Castle Resort(St Ives)(Great Value!)
$238
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (870)
Filter reviews
870 results
Traveler rating
533
226
69
26
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
533
226
69
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay restaurantsteep hillgroupon dealcar parkthe complimentary afternoon tealovely hotelrestaurant staffsea viewst michael's mounthonesty barevery afternoonno lifton arrivalshort breaklovely viewcream teamounts bay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
651 - 656 of 870 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Given the limited choice in the area this looked like the best of the bunch. I would say this is somewhere between average and very good on the tripadvisor scale. The pillows were cheap and thin, the bed too soft for my liking and I'm not a fan of a teddy on the bed. They were very welcoming upon arrival and the room itself was ok an spotlessly clean. Decent choice of breakfast items including fresh fruit, cereal etc as well as an a la carte menu. Ordered the haddock with poached eggs one morning and the eggs were a mess and completely overcooked. The service was ok but one of the waitresses seemed particularly grumpy each morning and like it was too much effort, although she was the only one. We've stayed in much nicer hotels for less money and think this is overpriced for its offering and location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DNB571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehribar, Owner at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

I wish I could have had these comments on our guest comments letter when I requested them, then I could have identified the room to check the pillows, and taken your complaint about the poached eggs to the head chef for rectification. As it is I've asked the head housekeeper to double check all the room pillows as they all ought to be fine as they were new coiled microfiber hyper allergenic ones, and certainly not cheap. It is possible that one of our older spare one has got accidentally substituted when someone asked for additional ones, but we'll just have to look. The eggs should not ever have been sent out less than perfect, anything not acceptable, please return to the kitchen for an immediate replacement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The first thing to say is that the staff immediately become your friends...even Jerry the 12 year old cat who appears all over the place... ( except the restaurant). The hotel is clean, well situated, nice views, helpful people... beautiful gardens
The downside is that there are no elevators ( but there is usually a strong male around)
and my personal complaint is that I never use common use shampoo , soaps etc. and was happy I brought my own. I understand why hotels use them ...but they are not for me.
other than that..had a lovely time and would go again in a hot minute :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

beautiful restuarant excellant service with staff that that were willing to go above and beyond service to accomodate. stunning setting with simplistic amazing food. we did not stay at the hotel only dined at the bay restuarant but am keen to stay at this gem.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toni p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We arrived to a wonderful welcome by Peter and the recptionist along with the lovely Jerry (Birman cat) having driven a fair distance to get there after flying in from Australia it was like arriving at an old friends place. Peter showed us around the hotel and helped take our very heavy bags up to our room as there is no lift. The rooms were a good size with lovely views of the bay and St Michaels Mount. The rooms were decorated nicely and the bed was super comfy.

The restaurant food was a great standard, however we made the mistake of listening to another reviewer who said the Dolphin Tavern was just as good only cheaper so we tried that on our second night - big mistake! There was simply no comparison so we ended up back at the Bay the next night.

The only disappointment was the weather but the hotel couldn't do anything about that. Like some of the other reviewers we agree that the car park was a challenge especially with a big car, and people that can't park properly!

All in all a great hotel and if we were to go back to Penzance we would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank npwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 7 nights. On arrival we were booked in and then shown around the hotel by Peter (Guest host). We stayed in room 18 which had a great view over the harbour. The other indoor area for views is the Bay Restaurant. The restaurant service and menus (both dinner and breakfast) were excellent. There is heated outdoor pool which was always available. The staff (cleaners, reception and restaurant) are all very polite and helpful. We felt that if a guest had a problem it would be addressed and resolved promptly. A nice touch is the tea, coffee and cakes available for all guests in the afternoon.
The hotel is in a good position for sight seeing. Well worth walking to Mousehole (about 3 miles). You can always catch the bus back. In the opposite direction one can walk along the beach to St Michaels Mount. Having enjoyed our stay we have booked for another week next year.

Room Tip: A side sea room has the view of the harbour and St Michaels Mount
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubblejak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews