We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally placed”
Review of Union Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Union Hotel
Ranked #63 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for just one night before going to the Isles of Scilly. Very charmng historical hotel, such a welcome change from the boring chain hotels. Room clean and lovely fluffly towels. Right on the main street with easy access to shopping or a walk by the sea. We were on the second floor with a view of the harbour and slept with our window open. The only thing that kept us awake was the seagulls, they seemed to up until the early hours! Great customer service and lovely breakfast, the best bacon I have had in a long while. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ame_thyst_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Union Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 272 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed a week should have stayed longer. Manager is also a character, called me Sir I had to advise him that I had not received the honour of kneeling in front of Her Majesty. Room well appointed, plenty of hot water. Staff always happy, excellent breakfast and DO NOT miss the dinners.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonyanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A time warp, full of character(s), close to docks for ferry, cheapish. i won't knock it ! it is what it is !!
Historically interesting,I liked the Trafalgar room and connections with Nelson..... staff friendly, OK for a night passing by, room clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aleccolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Character Full hotel , with friendly staff,however some of the facility's,in particular the shower and the Electrics , need updating and improving. (Shower had no water pressure and was just dribble ,had to have water on cold to get enough water to have some kind of wash)(Electrics one of the socket fronts was hanging off exposing live wires therefore being hazardous and dangerous)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I live in Penzance and often eat at The Union Hotel. The food is of good quality, especially Sunday Lunch which is usually accompanied by Gypsy Jazz making it a very pleasurable experience, and the portions are very generous. It is ideal for early evening eating as the kitchen is often closing around 8.30pm, but get there before and you will not be disappointed. The bar area is spacious and relaxed ideal for families, couples or if you are on your own you will be made welcome and won't feel out of place. Howie is the manager and is very obliging and keeps his eye on things to make sure the hotel runs smoothly - somewhere where the customer actually matters and comes first. Huge amount of history here as it was the first place to announce the death of Horatio Nelson, so loads to look at in the bar. Also take time to look at the paintings on the walls of the bar depicting Chapel Street in a very clever and interesting way!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I had read multiple TripAdvisor reviews on this hotel so I knew that it would be old and run-down (that is, "historic"). We had a so-called superior room on the second floor but it was hot all the time because of the sun and the window was fixed so that it could only open 2 inches (for security, no doubt). No air conditioning, which we could have used even though it was not particularly warm outside. The room furnishings were worn and shoddy and the bathroom was not particularly clean.

Why, then, am I not giving this hotel only one or two stars? Because (a) it was kind of a cool place in a quirky way, with its eclectic furnishings, (b) the common areas were large and we enjoyed sitting in a large lounge on the second floor with free wifi, (c) the breakfast was very good and the server was charming, and (d) Howie at the front desk was interesting and helpful after his initial brusqueness. Where else would the front desk manager treat you to breakfast after you just arrived on the early train? Where else can you walk down the street and eat dinner at Treasure Island's Admiral Benbow Inn? Where else can you see a fully dressed pirate walking through the courtyard? We happened to be in Penzance during a regional festival and got treated to fireworks our last night there. So yes, it was a very different, and positive, experience, and I never laid eyes on any hotel that looked better.

Room Tip: You'll carry your bags to whatever floor you stay on. Also, keep in mind that the views out to...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MargaretVirginia_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Be prepared to be surprised at this unassuming central Penzance hotel. Situated in probably Penzance most notable street and perfectly located for doing the town, you will find a combination of wonderful old public rooms with fabulous high ceilings, a well stocked bar that would put any pub to shame and modern dining with an imaginative comprehensive menu. Don't expect up to the minute interior design in the bedrooms but do expect old world atmosphere and good service. The charming Howie and his receptionist made me feel right at home the minute I arrived and I was lucky to experience some great jazz during one the hotel's regular functions. This is I believe Penzance most historical hotel and you will find some wonderful old pictures in the reception hall. The hotel also has the rare advantage of private parking!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the building have harbour views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank osiworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
814 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fountain Tavern
The Fountain Tavern
#70 of 82 in Penzance
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#8 of 82 in Penzance
572 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Longboat Inn
The Longboat Inn
#45 of 82 in Penzance
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#54 of 82 in Penzance
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Hotel

Address: 1 Chapel Street, Penzance TR18 4AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: $111 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing