We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quirky hotel with history, pleasant staff, good food and good value for money”
Review of Union Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Union Hotel
Ranked #62 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, quirky hotel with history, pleasant staff, good food and good value for money”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights early August in a sea view room with lovely views of St Michaels mount. Sea gulls were a little noisy, but closing the sash window and the comfortable beds gave a good nights sleep - after a couple of days we didn't notice the sea gulls any more and slept with window open. Service and food was very good, we ate in - maybe half the nights we stayed. Fish pie, lobster and crayfish were all good; you need to speak to the barman to order your food. Breakfast in the morning was good as well.

This is not a modern hotel, it is old and has history. Room could be due a refresh, but toilet and shower were clean, bed comfortable and service/food were good.

Car parking area around the back (up the ramp).

I am staying in a 4* hotel in London for lots more money this week and the room here is more tired and bathroom not properly cleaned. I would rather be staying at the union.

Bottom line, would we stay again at the Union? Yes.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrDeeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    93
    45
    25
    24
See reviews for
43
109
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

As we visit Cornwall without a car, the location of this hotel was great. We choose it as the price was affordable, and we're very surprise to find out the history of the building and enjoyed the decoration and the many paintings they have. The staff was very friendly!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isles of Scilly
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay in the Union Hotel Penzance and happy to report this hotel a lot better than some I have stayed in during stays in Penzance over the past couple of years. Just right for a short stay and very central for transport links to the Isles of Scilly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidpender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have just returned from our weekend break to Penzance and had a very pleasant stay at the Union Hotel, which offered us everything we needed for a family get away. The beds in our family room were very comfortable, and the breakfast was excellent. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed the trad jazz in the bar on Saturday night!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

I shared a twin room with my mate. We paid £200 ish for three nights. Breakfast was fab and the ladies seemed to offer unlimited tea and toast in addition to two eggs, two bacon, two sausages etc. Room was functional and clean. Everything worked. Sea gulls were noisy, but that's part of the charm of Penzance. Othercstaff were good people and the Hotel was very dog friendly. That said, the Hotel was a long way from the set of crufts. I was therevwhen the negative reviewers were there and I can only suggest that they had a touch of the 'gremlins' - we found everything pretty clean. Showers worked and were very functional.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Butty0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights, we have 3 people and all feel very satisfied about this hotel. Very convenient location, all nice restaurant arount and 2 minutes walk to the sea. The most important is that this hotel is clean, tidy and cosy, friendly staff, I will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We cannot believe the previous review left on here in relation to this wonderful hotel. We arrived here on monday afternoon to be greeted by a warm and friendly member of staff, who showed us to our family room. Our initial thoughts were that we had entered a hotel steeped in history which had a true sense of purpose and location, and we were not disappointed.
Our room was clean, cosy and suited our family needs perfectly. The breakfast was amazing and the choice was great. The staff were attentive to our needs and the customer service we experienced was as good as any 4 or 5 star hotel that we have stayed in! We would definitely return and would recommend this hotel to any family or traveller looking for a central penzance location

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloverdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Fountain Tavern
The Fountain Tavern
#69 of 82 in Penzance
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#7 of 82 in Penzance
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#56 of 82 in Penzance
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Hotel

Property: Union Hotel
Address: 1 Chapel Street, Penzance TR18 4AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing