We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay here”
Review of Sophia's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sophia's B&B
Ranked #27 of 81 Penzance B&B and Inns
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved our stay here”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Sophia's for four nights leading up to August Bank Holiday and we would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. It's in an excellent location with wonderful sea views (free parking outside the B&B too!). Our room ('Mylor') was lovely ... spacious, with a huge, very comfy bed and fantastic walk-in shower in the nicely appointed bathroom ... and a nice window seat in our room on which to admire views of Newlyn and/or St Michaels Mount! We were made generous, tasty breakfasts - lots of choice - and Lynne (the owner) was really helpful ... a very pleasant, welcoming lady who is extremely knowledgable about Penzance and surrounding areas and West Cornwall in general. We had a wonderful long weekend and wouldn't hesitate to return to Sophia's

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suereview2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
60
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A lovely welcome offering freshly made tea /coffee. A spotless room with modern luxury shower/ bathroom, the most comfortable bed ever and good nights sleep, followed by a breakfast cooked in front of you to your taste and requirement. Would definitely book here again. We run a holiday cottage ourselves and are fussy when it comes to staying at any bed and breakfast. This was simply the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for a week based upon past reviews here on Trip Advisor. Those of you who may have followed my reviews know how I try to see the best in any place visited, but it is difficult to be positive about Sophia's. Certainly the location is superb, right on the seafront with magnificent views, but much else does not live up to the hype here from others.

The first intimation that all was not well was when we learnt that the restaurant had closed due to the proprietors indisposition. Then, on arrival the room had not even started to be made up. We were early, but not that early and the sight of pillows and bedding piled against the windows was somewhat off putting

The room 'Mylor' (the most expensive at £120 a night) was very small, and whilst enjoying wonderful views there were no chairs ( indeed not even space for chairs) to be able to enjoy it; the only seat was the window seat ( window sill with cushion) which faced the wrong way obviously. On the plus side the bed was magnificent, large and comfortable and the shower was superb. One very serious omission was the lack of any obvious fire protection. The room was situated at the top of a steep stairwell and the only other exit appeared to be jumping out the window. So, despite the presence of a smoke alarm the lack of any obvious fire protection or signage was not what we expected.

Breakfast was served in a minute breakfast area not capable of seating all guests at once. I took serious exception at being virtually forced out as I finished eating so another guest could sit down. Also the galley kitchen was open to the room and you therefore had to share the smell of everyone else's breakfast as you ate your own.

The final insult was not to be offered any discount for a full weeks stay despite the fact that considerable cost savings in laundry alone would have been made.

Room Tip: I suggest the cheapest would probably be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank daithelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynn r, Owner at Sophia's B&B, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
I do not usually reply to reviews as I believe strongly they are a force for good. But this review, which makes wholly inaccurate statements about safety, demands I respond.

It is quite obvious that you take your role as reviewer for ‘your followers’ seriously. Over 80 reviews in less than 3 years does show a level of dedication. However, your statement on fire safety, has gone beyond your role as a consumer critic and strayed into the area of professional assessment. Unless you have relevant fire qualifications, you really should have checked your facts before commenting.

For the record: when Sophia's opened as a B&B in 2011, it, like all commercial buildings, had to undergo rigorous testing to ensure it conformed to all of the latest health and safety regulations, including fire. Alarm systems, smoke detectors, extinguishers, emergency lighting, fire doors, walls, and flooring were all installed together with specialist windows allowing for easy fire brigade access in a worst case scenario. At less than three years old, these safety measures will far exceed most in larger more established premises.

The remainder of your review I have no quibble with, although it is, I would suggest, as factually correct as your previous comments. Sophia's is a small B&B, with high quality accommodations and spectacular sea views. We do not pretend to have extensive hotel facilities. Our watchword is outstanding hospitality and the provision of a warm and welcoming atmosphere, where a lavish breakfast allows guests the opportunity to meet and chat. Obviously this will not suit everyone, but it is an arrangement that does seem to suit many, as happy reviews from other guests attest.

I am saddened that you did not enjoyed your holiday and even sadder that you preferred not to express your concerns on the many occasions that we were chatting. Nobody running a B&B does it to become rich. We work long hard hours and we do it because we like people and take our rewards from their pleasure. Criticism in these small establishments is always very personal, particularly when we feel it unwarranted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is lovely B&B on the front in Penzance. Our room was lovely, very comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts were excellent. As has been said before Lynne is an excellent host with impeccable taste and an attention to detail which makes this B&B so good. What more is there to say............ if you are going to Penzance go to Sophia's!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyndaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncsster
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for three nights in July and really enjoyed our stay.

Lynn was a wonderful host providing tasty breakfasts and advice where we should visit during our stay and booking us for dinner on the first night at the Tolcarne Inn that specialises in fresh fish off the boats at Newlyn.

The room on the ground floor was a tad small but had been recently constructed with no expense spared with an en-suite bathroom that you might expect in a five star hotel.

Would highly recommend this accommodation but book early so you can stay in one of the larger bedrooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewiseowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hietzing, Wien, Austria
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

What al lovely place. Sophia's B&B gives us a wonderful home for 4 unforgettable days in Penwith. Our Host Lynn told us the best places to go (Helford, Mousehole, Cape Cornwall, etc.), cooked superb fish for us and served the best english/greek breakfast!!! We recommend this place warmly and we come back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Upon arrival sofia greeted us with cuppa and home made biscuits. She is a lovely host. Place is in great handy location, easy walking distance to eateries. Highly recommended. Breakfast was ample and sofia makes you very welcome.

Room Tip: Irom downstairs has sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummydearest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
1.0 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#32 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rosalie Guest House
Rosalie Guest House
#23 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#9 of 81 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Dunedin Guest House
The Dunedin Guest House
#16 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#71 of 81 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
2.1 mi away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#20 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophia's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophia's B&B

Property: Sophia's B&B
Address: Promenade | Promenade, Penzance TR18 4HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sophia's B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sophia's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia's B&B Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing