We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sophia's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sophia's B&B
Ranked #26 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
Uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at this delightful B and B en route to the Scillies.A warm welcome from Lynn followed by tea and home made biscuits. The rooms were lovely, decorated in charming colours with fabulous sea views, very comfortable beds and the best pillows we have ever had away from home!
Modern shower room with fantastic shower and plenty of hot water. The evening meal was delicious, as was the generous breakfast. We shall definitely look no further next time we need acccomodation in Penzance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinhopeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
60
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Sophia's B and B includes the following;

. A lovely host
. An incredible bedroom and shower suite-spacious- marbled bathroom-comfortable beds with warm and cuddly throws, a selection of Cornwall life magazines.
. A nice selection of breakfasts and dining opportunities
. A large bedroom window opening towards the sea-front.
. Affordable pricing for a highly accommodating stay.

Sophia’s B and B is;

. The best presented B and B I have stayed in my many stays within the London and Cornish areas.
. The safest hotel I encountered within the Penzance area and well located by the harbour and directly opposing the sea.

Tip!
Try and book early to attain a space at this B and B and do not leave it until the late afternoon/evening to configure where one is to stay within Penzance as the area itself is dangerous and there are no later trains running from Penzance station.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Herts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spent a week at this fabulous B&B which has a lovely restuarant combined within. We dined four nights out of the seven and I have to say that it was perfect in every way. Room was comfortable and very clean, with great sea view from the window. It is ideally located for the coastal walks and for onwards travel to the Isles of Scilly, which we did on a day trip. This B&B has the highest standards that we have come across in many many years.
Lynn is a great host and a fanastic cook. We will be booking another visit real soon.

Room Tip: They all have a sea views but either of the two upstairs rooms have the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RupertTBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Have not stayed in many B&B's as prefer hotels however this was great. There is 3 rooms all with ensuites and it doesn't feel like you are on top of each other. It is on the seafront and on arrival we were given tea and coffee with homemade biscuits,which was a nice touch.

The rooms are spacious and immaculate and well presented. The bathroom is large and the shower is a walk in double which was one of the best I've used. Towels were thick and fluffy with some nice toiletries.

Breakfast is made to order and you are asked on arrival what time is best for you. Full English was very good and tea and coffee was ample.

The B&B is about a 10-15 min walk into Penzance and it was recommended to walk through the Moorab Gardens which is a really pleasant stroll. Not much in Penzance but would recommend going to St Michaels Mount which is about 10 mins up the road by car and you can easily spend a day there, with the beach, castle and traditional Cornish town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is one of my favourite B&B's, with an owner who is clearly putting her heart into it. We stayed for two nights in Mylor, on the first floor overlooking the sea. The room is bright and spacious, very tastefully decorated, with an extremely comfortable bed. There is a private hallway area on entering the room, containing facilities for making tea and coffee, along with homemade cookies and bottled water and Cornish apple juice. In the bathroom, the shower is superb. Breakfast was delicious, and I particularly liked the homemade marmalade. One evening we had dinner in the restaurant downstairs, and really enjoyed our meal there too.

From the B&B the centre of Penzance is an easy walk away, and in the other direction it takes about an hour to walk to the picturesque port of Mousehole. St Michael's Mount is a short drive away, and well worth a visit.

I would definitely recommend Sophia's for a stay in this area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feihmaahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed one night at Sophia's and would thoroughly recommend this establishment. Lovely room, tastefully decorated to a high standard with great views of the sea. The breakfast was delicious with lots of choice and we also had an evening meal in the restaurant which was equally delicious! The owner was extremely welcoming and friendly. All in all an excellent experience, wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabella2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed for three nights in Zelah, a first floor room with a king-size bed, and a fantastic en-suite bathroom. We loved our stay: the decor is very modern and luxurious and the room was spotless. Lots of nice touches: mineral water and fruit juices were provided in the room every day. Comfy bed, and great shower. Nice window seat, and great view across Mount's Bay. The room is right on the prom, so if you're a very light sleeper, you may find traffic noise an issue - but we personally didn't find it a problem.

The breakfasts were delicious and generous portions. We also had a great meal in the restaurant (see separate review)

The atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly, with flexible breakfast times. The owner was incredibly helpful and clearly committed to doing everything she could to make our stay perfect. She let us check in early when we arrived and offered to look after our bags all day on checking out (our train was not until the early evening on our last day), which was really kind.

We would absolutely recommend Sophia's for a great stay in Penzance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
774 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#32 of 87 in Penzance
50 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#9 of 87 in Penzance
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rosalie Guest House
Rosalie Guest House
#27 of 87 in Penzance
82 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Dunedin Guest House
The Dunedin Guest House
#17 of 87 in Penzance
133 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#74 of 87 in Penzance
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophia's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophia's B&B

Property: Sophia's B&B
Address: Promenade | Promenade, Penzance TR18 4HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sophia's B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sophia's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia's B&B Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing