We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Venton Vean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penzance
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Venton Vean
Ranked #4 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a welcoming and luxurious B&B in a quiet residential street in Penzance. There is no off-road parking, but we were always able to park right beside the gate. The room was comfortable and very well-equipped; when I asked for soap rather than shower gel for the shower (explaining that I found shower gel made it slippery, and I have a bad hip) I was brought not only soap but a non-slip mat so effective that I am buying one for myself, to take travelling with me! Philippa’s husband David helped us upstairs with our heavy cases, and Philippa went to great lengths to provide my husband with the best wake-up coffee possible, leaving us a cafetière with fresh-ground coffee already in it, and putting a little jug of cold milk outside our door before we woke to save me from having to struggle downstairs to fetch it from the fridge. Nothing seemed too much trouble! Philippa was happy to take time to advise on local places of interest, and to lend us a marked-up map of how to get there. Breakfast the first day was perhaps a little slow, but by the second day we had the hang of it and asked for our eggs as soon as we came downstairs, so that they didn’t take so long to appear (although there was plenty of self-service toast and delicious preserves to keep us going). We will certainly return to this excellent B&B!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 339 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

From the luxurious bathrooms to the mouth-watering breakfasts, Venton Vean takes the concept of b&b to new heights. Nothing is too much trouble for hosts Philippa and David, who provide warm service with genuine smiles. Peaceful, welcoming and groovy, this gorgeous villa is a perfect hideaway for foodies who appreciate the good things in life. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Try room number three if you love beautiful bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wonderful place to stay. I had room 3 which has an enormous bathroom, well worth planning a long soak in the tub, with the bathrobes as well its rather like having your own spa! Bed was very comfortable and the decor is impeccable , really lovely. Wish I could have stayed longer and will definitely be back! Its a short walk from the ferry or train along the sea front.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a stunning bathroom, like having your own spa bath and an amazing shower, couldn't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I loved the look of Venton Vean as soon as I looked at the website....it is hard to describe as it is a beautiful traditional Victorian villa, retaining many original features, but with an eclectic choice of furnishings. We stayed for five nights in Room 1, which I chose for the bigger room/smaller ensuite option. There are clear descriptions of all the rooms on the website and Philippa explained the options when I booked. The ensuite was small, but with a really fantastic shower. We had a bay window, with views over to Penlee Park.

The bed was so comfortable with the nicest linen, I wanted to take it home with me. It was no problem for us to have synthetic duvet and pillows instead of the goosedown. We found our room really relaxing. It was spotlessly clean.

Breakfasts are so delicious, we had a cooked option every morning. The Spanish option was fantastic, as was Mexican. There was a great choice of home made jams, fresh fruit, yogurt.

The house is located on a quiet street, only a few minutes from the town centre (best route was through the park).

Philippa is a terrific, friendly host, ready to help and offer advice whenever needed. She provided us with maps, train timetables, gallery brochures from her TIC sideboard!

Penzance itself is a great base to explore the Penwith penisular. We even managed a couple of car free days by walking to Mousehole and exploring Penzance itself, plus we went to St Ives on the train. There were some great places to eat...Mackerel Sky, the Bakehouse, the Old Lifeboat House Bistro. I was glad we had chosen 5 nights in one place instead of my original plan to spend 2 nights in St Ives and 3 in Penzance.

It was our first trip to Cornwall and it certainly won't be our last...and I would definitely return to the charming Venton Vean.

Room Tip: Read the descriptions of all the rooms on the website to see what will suit you best. Philippa will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsSmith2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Cannot recommend Venton Vean too highly. Our two night stay was perfect. The room was stylish and very comfortable- loved the sophisticated colour scheme. Very comfortable bed, small but excellent shower room with locally made goodies.
The house is beautifully decorated with loads of interesting books and tasteful pictures. Its on the corner of a quiet road just opposite the park gates. Our room was at the front and even with both windows open we were not disturbed but any noise outside.
Very good breakfast with first class home jams - delicious.
Don't bother looking anywhere else if you want to stay in the area - Venton Vean is unbeatable.

Room Tip: just book it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilgrim51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Venton Vean in September. Sadly we only stayed two nights, we really wish it could have been longer but are hoping to go back next year. The B&B itself is a beautiful old victorian villa with some excellent modern and luxurious touches. We stayed in room 2 which is a large room overlooking the park at the front. The bed was really large and comfortable with quality feather pillows and duvets and we had a small but very nice bathroom with beautiful fittings and a monsoon shower. The toiletries provided are plentiful and from a local company and fresh towels were provided every day and really soft and comfortable bath robes. Our room had ipod dock, tv with DVD player and tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was brilliant with most items being either homemade or locally sourced and we enjoyed everything we had. I could carry on with all the things we were happy with but really, what makes this a truly special place are the extra touches that David & Phillipa made throughout our stay. The freshly ground coffee whenever we wanted, with fresh milk provided in the fridge downstairs, the piles of books in every room and DVDs available, the homemade jam (especially the apricot & lavender one) and great breakfasts that satisified even my notoriously difficult chef fiancee, the room being turned over in the mornings and after finding our half bottle of wine in our room left from the night before, the thoughtful touch of putting this in the fridge for us and providing wine glasses and nibbles! We truly would not want to stay anywhere else when we come to cornwall now and would recommend Venton Vean to every single one of our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Spent 5 nights at Venton Vean and loved every minute of it. David and Philippa were excellent hosts. Breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were very clean and beautifully decorated. The house is situated across from a lovely little park which houses a small and interesting museum. There were quite a few places within walking distance; e.g. the town centre is only about a 10 minute walk and Newlyn, along the coast, is about a 15 minute leisurely walk. We had some very good meals both in Penzance and one at a pub in Newlyn, Philippa told us about. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
832 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#2 of 82 in Penzance
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#9 of 82 in Penzance
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glencree House
Glencree House
#3 of 82 in Penzance
392 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#5 of 82 in Penzance
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venton Vean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venton Vean

Address: Venton Vean Trewithen Road, Penzance TR18 4LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: $99 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened boutique bed and breakfast in a period town house next to Penlee Park in Penzance with beautifully refurbished rooms and a lovely sitting room and garden for guest use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Venton Vean Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing