We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit, would go back for the full tour”

Polgoon Vineyard & Orchard, Vineyard Shop and Vine House Kitchen
Ranked #9 of 65 things to do in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: POLGOON BY JOHN COULSON, CORNISH WINEMAKER “I set up Polgoon Vineyard and Orchard with my wife Kim in 2006 and for the last 10 years we’ve been dedicated to producing artisan English wines, ciders and juices from our farm in Penzance. We were originally Fish Merchants in Newlyn, but this changed when we bought an overgrown, run down flower farm and started planting vines… ‘Polgoon’, Cornish for ‘Pond on the Downs’, is a word that describes the original setting of the location of the vineyard and orchard that sits on sunny hills, overlooking the sparkling sea of Mounts Bay. This unique position is reflected on our label that depicts an abstract view of the vines and the sea – two things we feel strongly connected to here at Polgoon. We have a wide range of award-winning still and sparkling wines, ciders and juices sold in outlets across Cornwall and the West Country. Our mild Cornish climate and unique Cornish terroir means that the grapes we grow here are the grapes we use in our wines – which means most of our wines are single estate, something that only a few English vineyards can claim. We have tours that run from April-October and it’s a great way to experience life on a Cornish vineyard, where we share our knowledge of growing vines and creating fine English (or should it be Cornish?) wines. These tastings give customers ideas about pairing wine and food as well as an appreciation for the character and depth of a wine. We also have a Vine House Kitchen serving fresh locally sourced food and a Vineyard Shop selling other local produce as well as our own. Please pop in and see us if you live locally or are planning a visit to this part of West Cornwall - we'd love to show you around our home and business."
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Stone, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, would go back for the full tour”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We arrived too late for a tour, so only visited the shop, but the friendly member of staff was more than happy to chat about the vineyard and let us sample some of the cider and the wine.
We came away with a number of bottles and a rose glow in our cheeks!
Next time we are back we are going to book the tour and spend more time sampling the lovely wine / cider.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    25
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“MUCH ANTICIPATED RETURN VISIT”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We first discovered Polgoon in 2009 and returned again in 2010 on our next stay in Cornwall. So, apart from our love of this part of Cornwall, revisiting Polgoon was one of the main reasons for our return to Penzance. On our previous visits our purchases were made in one of the production buildings but this time we were delighted to find a purpose built vineyard shop with all the lovely products beautifully displayed. The range of wines and ciders has increased since our last visit and we were overwhelmed with the choice. In the end we decided on six bottles of our favourite Aval and raspberry sparking cider plus several flavours new to us including the blackcurrant sparkling cider. The shop is really special and sells not only wines and ciders but lots of lovely local produce. The staff are friendly and welcoming and there is a nice friendly atmosphere - not the intimidating and condescending tone sometimes experienced in vineyard shops. It definitely encouraged us to spend more! I would highly recommend a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JENNYWREN778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing little cider maker”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We saw there products in a few delis locally whilst we were there so new we would have to visit. On visiting the shop we were offered loads of tasters and ended up buying a fair few!
Staff were really friendly and welcoming.
Beautifully wrapped. Will go again on our return for a full tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wanderandfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a few hours!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Passed by a few times so thought I would take my husband as a birthday treat, we had also picked up a pamphlet which had buy one get one free on wine tours, the tour was great, with some very nice tasting at the end, the shop is full of local produce so we came away with some tasty treats for another day, would definitely recommend a visit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisabernadettewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Support your local winery”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

wow educational and exciting. I remember polgoon when flowers were grown there. It was really good to see the success and hard work over the last ten years that has taken place by the family concern. The wine and cider was mmm. I would recommend the elderflower and rose. Not only are there the wine's fruit juices and ciders. But there are local products also available. Get down there and enjoy it. Ben's knowledge is impressive however his jokes aren't great hahaha his tour was enjoyable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polgoon Vineyard & Orchard, Vineyard Shop and Vine House Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Polgoon Vineyard & Orchard, Vineyard Shop and Vine House Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing