We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing little cider maker”

Polgoon Vineyard & Orchard
Ranked #12 of 64 things to do in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Polgoon cider orchard and vineyard is situated on the south facing slopes over looking Penzance and St Michaels Mount in Cornwall providing the perfect location for growing grapevines and apple trees. We are the Coulson family, who originally worked in the local fishing industry and we are dedicated to producing some of the finest Cornish wines, ciders and fruit juices.You can visit the Polgoon shop and deli to browse a range of local produce and enjoy a tasting of Polgoon's delicious wines, ciders and juices. You can also enjoy a winemakers guided tour which provides a fascinating insight into the activities of a working vineyard & orchard followed by 5 tastings at the end. Available on Wednesdays, Thursday & Fridays at 2pm from March to end of October at £10 per person. Advanced booking advisable and group bookings can be made by private arrangement. Wine tasting for 18 years & older only. To further enjoy the Vineyard and the surrounding area, you can stay at our Polgoon holiday cottage. Our holiday cottage sleeps 6+ with a front garden and access to the vineyard. The cottage is 10 minute walk from the town and 10 minute walk to the beach.
Leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing little cider maker”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We saw there products in a few delis locally whilst we were there so new we would have to visit. On visiting the shop we were offered loads of tasters and ended up buying a fair few!
Staff were really friendly and welcoming.
Beautifully wrapped. Will go again on our return for a full tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wanderandfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    17
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a few hours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Passed by a few times so thought I would take my husband as a birthday treat, we had also picked up a pamphlet which had buy one get one free on wine tours, the tour was great, with some very nice tasting at the end, the shop is full of local produce so we came away with some tasty treats for another day, would definitely recommend a visit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisabernadettewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Support your local winery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

wow educational and exciting. I remember polgoon when flowers were grown there. It was really good to see the success and hard work over the last ten years that has taken place by the family concern. The wine and cider was mmm. I would recommend the elderflower and rose. Not only are there the wine's fruit juices and ciders. But there are local products also available. Get down there and enjoy it. Ben's knowledge is impressive however his jokes aren't great hahaha his tour was enjoyable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Tasting room visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We drove down to Penzance so that we could taste across the range of their products. Quite often we see their ciders and wines around farm shops and eateries in the Duchy but didn't want to spend loadsamoney sorting out what was to our taste and what not! The shop was nicely kept and organised. The lady in store on the day was very helpful. There was a reasonable amount of parking. The car park is flattish, topped with wide diameter gravel/ stones - however there is quite an incline on the footpath , in the final few feet, to get to the building.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lowquayloafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Cornish Cider & Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nice to see English wines are doing so well. Well worth a visit if you are looking for something unique and interesting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDevonshireLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polgoon Vineyard & Orchard also viewed

 

Been to Polgoon Vineyard & Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing