We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet and refined”
Review of The Dock Inn

The Dock Inn
Ranked #66 of 181 Restaurants in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The popular Dock Inn is located in the heart of Penzance’s historic harbour-side area. The Dock has a good old fashioned pub atmosphere, with scrubbed pine tables, polished wooden floors, two open fires, comfy leather sofas and all sorts of nautical and other memorabilia! In the ‘lower deck’ you can watch the world go by through bi-fold doors overlooking Quay Street. You’ll get friendly service, banter, top quality home-made pub food (if you get peckish) and will be made to feel welcome whether you’re on your own or with a group of friends. We have live music most Friday’s and we also have a popular weekly jam session every Tuesday from 9pm where both musicians and spectators are welcome! We do the best Sunday Roast in town! We have a well thought out (and well sampled!) wine list, a wide range of bar drinks and choice of 3 excellent real ales including the legendary Spingo brewed in Helston. In the warmer summer months you can relax in our sunny courtyard garden. In the winter we have a heated smoking area for our customers enjoyment. As well as offering excellent value food & drinks, we have 3 quality en-suite B&B rooms – a perfect place to relax.
penzance
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“quiet and refined”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

just popped in for a quick pint while waiting for chinese takeaway, the decor is lovely, staff very friendly, very clean good beer, as we were the only people in there can't really say much else, but then again we did go in at about 6.30, so will visit again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hsdlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“atmospheric pub on penzance harbourside”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

friendly atmosphere, live music (check which nights), good food, right on harbour side & close to promenade to Newlyn, within minutes of town centre.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sandi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tatty”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We did not bother to stay for dinner. Looks very run down compared to what it was 12 to 18 months ago. Landlady looked shabby and uninterested in what she was doing. Had a quick drink in the beer garden which was very busy, it had a better atmosphere than inside.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Dock Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2017
Sorry we moved in July 2017, please if passing pop in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere,cosy,food well presented and tasty”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Haven't been here for at least 3 years and wasn't disapointed by the food and the atmosphere which was great. Service friendly and attentive.Very popular with locals. Clean, inviting and welcoming.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerardWiltshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEDOCKINN, Owner at The Dock Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
So pleased you enjoyed it after 3 years absence! We've got a great team and good atmosphere going on here! Really happy with how the pub is progressing!
Hopefully see you again soon (don't wait another 3 years!)

Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Above and over service expectations”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We visited the dock for our last nights special meal due to the acceptance of dogs and reasonable prices We weren't diss appointed the food was fantastic fast and well presented and the girls serving really looked after us and nothing was too much trouble

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walkaboutboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEDOCKINN, Owner at The Dock Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
What a lovely review! Thank you. Pleased you enjoyed the new menu - it's going down really well. Will pass on your praise to the team. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dock Inn also viewed

Penzance, Cornwall
Penzance, Cornwall
 
Penzance, Cornwall
 
Penzance, Cornwall
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to The Dock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing