We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good lunch”
Review of Dolphin Tavern

Dolphin Tavern
Ranked #16 of 181 Restaurants in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: this is a pub opposite the Scillonian crossing in Penzance that serves excellent food.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Hi all, called into the Dolphin on Sunday 15th for lunch and a pint. I ordered the chicken sizzler and it was very good indeed. Give this one a try. They also do a mushroom variant if you are a veggie. My friends also enjoyed their meal as well. Portions were good. Recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gamava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    157
    47
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better food pubs in Penzance”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend took in an evening meal at the Dolphin Inn during a recent week long stay in Penzance and I can't say it stood out amongst the other eateries in the town.

I went for the local trio of fish served with seasonal vegetables, while my boyfriend opted for the gammon and eggs. Both meals were tasty but certainly nothing to write home about - there are much better places to eat around Penzance. The menu is quite varied, so I suspect you would always be able to find something to eat. Pretty standard pub fare though.

The atmosphere was lacking - perhaps as it is a large pub and there were only a handful of punters (to be expected during the off season I suspect) - and the staff did not seem to be hugely enthusiastic. The food is reasonable value, but you can eat better in Penzance. I wouldn't be going back. They have a pretty good range of beers on so may be better as a drinking pub.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nrfcmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tired and disinterested”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

OK, it was a bank holiday week end, but the space, the menu and the service sent the message that this establishment was tired of trying.. Our feeling was that they were just playing out the string until Fall.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HogwartsAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“All round fabulousness”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

A pleasant atmosphere on arrival, with friendly staff happy to help and the room was gorgeous. Meals were discounted for guests and tasted fabulous.

I felt really well looked after and would recommend the Dolphin without hesitation.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank -Slush-x-Puppy-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PENZANCE
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ansome!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have eaten at The Dolphin many imes & the food had been delicious on each occasion. The appearence is very ship like inside but is on three main levils so that you can choose a quiet corner, by the bar or up where it is busy so the setting suits all. The menu is varied & delivers more than just "Pub Grub" so give it a go if all of the aboves sounds good to you!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank FRUDLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Dolphin Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing