We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best B & Bs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lombard House Hotel
Ranked #36 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“One of the best B & Bs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2007

Just back from 4 nights in this spotlessly clean and most comfortable B & B. Front rooms have a clear view to the sea. Ample private parking right in front of the Hotel.
The owners are most hospitable and the breakfast is better than to be found in many large Hotels. Fresh Strawberries, cherries and raspberries this week as well as a full range of high quality English (Cornish!) and continental items.
Many good evening eating places within a short stroll.
We shall return.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jamesfurze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
28
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2007

We stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms with a sea view and what a delight. A warm welcome, great views and all the things you need including internet access in the room for my laptop. Excellent choice at breakfast and free and safe parking in front of the hotel.

  • Liked — The rooms.
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MollyRedRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2006

We could not fault the standard of the accommodation or the service. 1st class.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2005

Nice chintzy decor but the manager claimed I was not allowed to plug my fan (warm weather and the room was hot and airless) into the socket in the room because 'it had not been tested by his engineer'. Begs the questions: what can you plug in?.. and what are the sockets in the room for if not for customers to plug their appliances into? He then proceeded to vindictively hound me for a nights extra stay when I cut my booking short by one day even though I had given him two days notice. The single room looked onto a small rear quadrangle and faced a service door a short distance away so it was noisy and airless. The morning I mistakenly sat at the wrong (empty) table for breakfast and watched him bring my coffee to the table 'I was supposed to sit at' is amusing now but was not at the time. I will never stay at this 'hotel' again and if you have electrical appliances and hope for some flexibility with a booking given two days notice, I would recommend you give this establishment a miss.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Peter_JS_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2005

Our family of 3 stayed two nights at The Lombard House in Penzance. I wish we had stayed longer. Our room (#7) looked on to the water and was huge as compared to the other B & Bs and hotels we stayed in. The bathroom was also huge with big fluffy towels and even face cloths! We parked in their free parking and walked everywhere. Since it was a bank holiday, our hosts advised us to take the train to St Ives instead of driving and were we glad. It was a beautiful 15 minute ride and St Ives, although beautiful, was quite crowded with cars everywhere. I would highly recomend this B & B.

Helpful?
10 Thank Shieldsnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.0 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 82 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#72 of 82 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Estoril Hotel
Estoril Hotel
#43 of 82 in Penzance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camilla House
Camilla House
#14 of 82 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Yacht Inn
The Yacht Inn
#29 of 82 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lombard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lombard House Hotel

Property: Lombard House Hotel
Address: 16 Regent Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lombard House in Penzance was built in the early 18th century. It is a Grade II listed building with many period features. Located on a quiet south facing terrace with free private guest parking and wonderful sea views overlooking mounts bay and the promenade.Lombard House is an elegant family run regency period Guest House offering quality bed and breakfast, Which has been owned and managed by Tom & Rita since 1995.Our aim is to provide a warm and welcoming homely atmosphere with a high standard of service and comfort.We are Conveniently located close to the town centre, restaurants , pubs and many local attractions. The train, bus and coach station is only 0.5 miles away and the Scillonian III ferry terminal is just a few minutes walk, We also have a lovely front garden available for guests to sit in and relax whilst enjoying wonderful views across Mounts Bay. A perfect location for a long or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Lombard House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombard Hotel Penzance
Lombard House Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing