We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an excellent guest house with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lombard House Hotel
Ranked #34 of 81 Penzance B&B and Inns
south coast UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“an excellent guest house with great service”
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Stayed with other family members June 2009: two rooms which were comfy, very clean and with nice touches/attention to detail that made the stay that bit more enjoyable.
Cracking, plentiful and varied breakfasts & very good service.
A nice location by the bay and only a modest walk into town though plenty of places to eat and drink nearby.
Took advantage of the 'long term' car parking facility as we went out of area on the Scillonian - the terminal is only a few minutes walk away.

Only negatives - the early risers in the room above were audible particularly the plumbing and its probably the going rate for location/accommodation but I still find these places a bit on the pricey side. Still it bettered our expectations and gets a thumbs up.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twixle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
28
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

My husband and I spent two nights here to escape the big City, and it was exactly what we were looking for. The location was excellent, just moments to the sea, as well as the historic Chapel St., and the rooms were excellent. We stayed in a top floor room with a sea view and it was perfect! Spotlessly clean as well. The breakfasts were excellent, and the host's very friendly. Checkout was at 10:00am but our train didn't leave til the evening, so we were pleased that they let us leave our luggage with them. The only small fault was a really horrible smell which came from the entrance (smelt a bit like a loo) but it didn't affect us at the top floor so it was fine.

Excellent trip!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessi0343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

I had the pleasure of staying at this B & B, owned by Tom & Rita Kruge, the first weekend of July.

I've rated it 5-star because of the wonderful attentiveness of the hosts (who are the kind of people you'd want to have as neighbours), the quality of the food and service, and the quality of the rooms.

I would recommend Lombard House to anyone who will be visiting the Cornwall area and I will definitely book here when I return to this part of England again.

  • Liked — comfortable bed, quiet hotel, excellent breakfast
  • Disliked — there was nothing I did not like about the Lombard
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank brianseaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

We have just spent a lovely weekend break at this hotel. All rooms were spotless, with excellent sea views from our bedroom on the front. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the Hotel
  • Disliked — No evening Meal
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank manutdfan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2007

Just back from 4 nights in this spotlessly clean and most comfortable B & B. Front rooms have a clear view to the sea. Ample private parking right in front of the Hotel.
The owners are most hospitable and the breakfast is better than to be found in many large Hotels. Fresh Strawberries, cherries and raspberries this week as well as a full range of high quality English (Cornish!) and continental items.
Many good evening eating places within a short stroll.
We shall return.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jamesfurze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2007

We stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms with a sea view and what a delight. A warm welcome, great views and all the things you need including internet access in the room for my laptop. Excellent choice at breakfast and free and safe parking in front of the hotel.

  • Liked — The rooms.
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MollyRedRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 10, 2006

We could not fault the standard of the accommodation or the service. 1st class.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.0 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 81 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#71 of 81 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Estoril Hotel
Estoril Hotel
#44 of 81 in Penzance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camilla House
Camilla House
#12 of 81 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Yacht Inn
The Yacht Inn
#36 of 81 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lombard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lombard House Hotel

Property: Lombard House Hotel
Address: 16 Regent Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lombard House in Penzance was built in the early 18th century. It is a Grade II listed building with many period features. Located on a quiet south facing terrace with free private guest parking and wonderful sea views overlooking mounts bay and the promenade.Lombard House is an elegant family run regency period Guest House offering quality bed and breakfast, Which has been owned and managed by Tom & Rita since 1995.Our aim is to provide a warm and welcoming homely atmosphere with a high standard of service and comfort.We are Conveniently located close to the town centre, restaurants , pubs and many local attractions. The train, bus and coach station is only 0.5 miles away and the Scillonian III ferry terminal is just a few minutes walk, We also have a lovely front garden available for guests to sit in and relax whilst enjoying wonderful views across Mounts Bay. A perfect location for a long or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Lombard House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombard Hotel Penzance
Lombard House Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing