We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub grub exceptional desserts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kings Arms Paul
Ranked #41 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 18, 2013

During a holiday in Mousehole ate here twice .Six of us on the first night of our holiday and ten later in the week. We hadn't booked the first time and we were lucky to get a table booking is a good idea. We didn't bother with starters which are fairly unimaginative but that proved a good thing as the main courses are large and the desserts for a pub are amazing particularly the specials . I had a French custard tart which would not have been out of place in a top restaurant .I am told by others in the party that the sticky toffee pudding which is on the standard menu is really good the portions are certainly huge. We had two vegetarians and a coeliac in our party and there was good choice although another dessert other than ice cream for coeliacs would have been nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank adelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 161 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed over 5 nights. Nothing adverse to say; good people looking after you, comfy room, good breakfasts, and the lunch / evening menu can leave you wondering if there's room for another Tribute ale. The 'local' experience comes from listening in on the bluegrass jamming sessions, the bell ringing on Thursdays from the church over the road, and even (unobtrusively in my case!) singing along with the Mousehole Male Voice Choir after their weekly rehearsals. Mousehole is a 15 minute walk down the hill, and with a bit of planning and the local timetables on your smartphone, Penzance and Land's End buses can be picked up from around the corner. Just a crackin' experience; a big 'thumbs up'!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a great stay here at The King's Arms Pub in Paul. The old world charm, the friendly owners, family and staff . Through out our week here we where able to try many different dishes from their menu and found they cooked the best chips in all of England. We where very lucky to become involved within many of the local groups and their activities, such as the bell ringers and featured in the local paper. The King's Arms (Pub) and the village of Paul is stituated at the top of a very long hill climb but if you explore the bus timetables enough the late afternoon bus goes up the hill. We managed to travel all around this part of Cornwall by bus.
We feel the King's Arms in Paul is well worth a visit.
thanks for a great time. Aussie 2

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Ridiculously over priced food that is nothing special. I ordered the Kings Mixed Grill which wasn't great, the steak was under cooked and the sausage was like rubber. The chips I also thought were too dry. For desert I ordered the Apple Pie which was soggy and considering what I paid for this it was one big disappointment. Next time I'm in the Penzance area I will not be coming back to this pub. The only thing that really stood out for me was the service, it was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Djang0F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Having holidayed in Mousehole for the last 15+ years and always had a meal at the Kings Arms, Paul we were extemely disappointed with the last visit. In previous years we have had trouble booking a table due to how busy the pub is but this time the pub the empty - which told a story in itself! We ordered starters which were fine however the main courses were not good. The pasta dishes myself and daughter ordered were very greasy and sickly. The steak that my husband ordered came and was mostly fat - the meat that was on it was raw - jelly-like. We sent it back - then had to wait another 15 minutes for a replacement by which time the dish of chips that the waitress had left were cold. The second 'steak' came - this was extremely well done and was debatable whether it was steak or not??? When asked by the waitress if this one had been any better we replyed it was not the best - she replied 'that sometimes happens with rump steak' (!!!?) Fortunately they did take my husbands meal off the bill but overall we were disappointed - we have been to this pub for meals on numerous occassions and have always enjoyed the experience but we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank astonsvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stumbled upon this pub when staying near Newlyn. Had a great meal, and were lucky enough to be there on one of their regular live music nights - Djazz Celtica were playing just the kind of music we love. We will definitely visit again, and this time probably stay there, when this band is playing again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This pub does lovely main meals, but it does the bestest homemade sticky toffee pudding with clotted cream the area!
My husband and I just visit for some pudding and a glass of rattlers cider, delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
2 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
58 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
499 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Beachfield
The Beachfield
#2 of 4 in Penzance
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#76 of 82 in Penzance
71 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Shoreline Guest House
The Shoreline Guest House
#61 of 82 in Penzance
118 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#2 of 7 in Mousehole
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Paul

Address: Paul, Penzance TR19 6TZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: $58 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms at Paul is one of West Cornwall’s most atmospheric pubs. With our no-fruit-machine, no satellite TV policy we have encouraged a return to old family values and quickly earned a reputation for good food and good beer in the most hospitable surroundings.We have two comfortable bars, serving well-kept St Austell Brewery real ales and a selection of good homemade food every day of the week.We are perfectly located near Mousehole on the Penwith peninsula and our five welcoming bedrooms provide the ideal base for you to explore all the delights that the area offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Kings Arms Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Paul Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing