We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cornish gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camilla House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camilla House
Ranked #12 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cornish gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I picked this b&b based on some good reviews and it certainly lived up to our expectations. The rooms were clean, well presented and comfortable and the hosts were extremely welcoming and accommodating. Penzance itself is a lot quieter and has less to offer than many of the local tourist hotspots but this made it the perfect place to stay as the room, including a delicious breakfast, was very reasonably priced and the local attractions were within easy reach. I would thoroughly recommend Camilla House to anyone looking for a luxury b&b at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy2793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    18
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
132
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

I just returned from a 12 day holiday in Cornwall and I could not have stayed at a better B&B for the entire trip that soothed my nerves, provided blissfully quiet sleep, yummy breakfasts (loved the Cornish Blue cheese, locally baked multigrain bread and special Spanish quince jam!!) and the nicest hosts!!. I was totally charmed by new owners Fiona, Curro and their Dalmatian puppy, Lucca. And a grateful special thanks to Curro who was able to reattach the broken handle on my suitcase so I could get back home - it held the entire return journey - bravo! In all the little ways they made my stay delightful and special, I send my thanks.

I highly recommend the Camilla House. The location is superb: It is central not only to Penzance but to all of the routes and destinations I set out to travel all over West Cornwall whether by car, rail or on foot. It is one of a row of classic Georgian homes set back from the famous Penzance Promenade as the gentle hill rises toward St. Mary's Church and it feels secluded, quiet; a calm and elegant oasis. The address - Regent Terrace is an access lane only so no foot or vehicle traffic unless you count the local farmer delivery fresh eggs! Parking is onsite in front. The room was just as pictured and even better the first night I fell into bed and realized how comfortable the bed was, how soft and fresh the linens were .....it felt like home.


And a shout out to Keith from Tucker Car Hire, who went above and beyond to help me fix a flat tire and who ordered me the perfect car for someone driving for the first time on the left side of the road!

Room Tip: I loved the Mullion Room facing St. Mary's Church grounds and listening to the seagulls in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 40LaSalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamillaHousePenzance, Owner at Camilla House, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you here as a guest, we all miss chatting with you and Luca misses you fussing over him! !! Fee & Curro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEAFORD UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

This was not our first visit to camilla house and yet again we enjoyed a great stay,the new owners are doing a super job and I can assure anyone who is visiting this summer to relax and look forward to there stay.breakfast was 1st class as was the service and the beds are so comfy and the room are spotlessly clean as always,we look forward to retuning later this summer,highly recommend .

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PIEMAN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivinghoe bucks
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

This was the second time we had stayed at Camilla House, and the second time we have extended our stay because it was so lovely! The new owners, Fi & Francisco (and Luca the adorable Dalmation puppy) were very friendly and could not have made us more welcome. We felt as though we were staying with old friends. The breakfasts were delicious, the rooms as clean and comfortable as ever and we would not hesitate to stay at Camilla House again the next time we visit Penzance. Despite the weather being awful, we had a lovely, relaxing break.

Room Tip: Our lovely room on the top floor had a dual-aspect, with the front window looking out over the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcb 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamillaHousePenzance, Owner at Camilla House, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again. I will source puffs without the honey... but that could be a playful wind up like the shredded wheat!! ??

Thank you for staying with us, it was a total pleasure to have you stay, you both brightened up the breakfast area every morning.

Fee, Curro & Luca the growing puppy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Even under new ownership, the Camilla House certainly lived up to its billing. The new owners, who are quite friendly and likable, went to considerable lengths to ensure that my daughter and I had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Though they had been in the house for only little over a week, the only evidence of growing pains was a slight confusion over how to contact them when neither was visible on the premises. Their advice on dinner was extremely helpful, directing us to a choice between two appealing restaurants approximately a 3-minute walk away. We were happy with our twin-bedded room, whose interesting configuration gave it the feel of a real bedroom. This would unquestionably be my first choice of lodging upon any return to Penzance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatS731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We enjoyed a two night get away in Cornwall. This was our first time in Cornwall and the place was a perfect choice. The new owners were wonderful and very helpful with dinner recommendations. The room was comfortably furnished. Very nice B&B.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiseguy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamillaHousePenzance, Owner at Camilla House, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Likewise, you were wonderful guests. We hope to see you on your next visit To Cornwall & many happy returns to your dear wife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We came here to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary in January having found this guest house on the internet and read previous reviews. It certainly lived up to all the previous comments. On arrival Simon came out to great us (virtually before the car engine was switched off) and within minutes we were enjoying a relaxing pot of coffee. Both Simon and Susan made us made us very welcome and for 5 days it really felt like home. All complimentary phrases seem to have been used up in previous reviews, the only one left is to quote Craig Revell-Horwood:- FAB-U-LUS.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 87 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#6 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camilla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camilla House

Property: Camilla House
Address: 12 Regent Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Camilla House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Camilla House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camilla House Hotel Penzance
Camilla Hotel Penzance
Camilla House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing