We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penzance B & B”
Review of Camilla House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camilla House
Ranked #15 of 84 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have just stayed at this B & B for a week and it is excellent. I was meet by Susan who immediately offered my a cup of tea. The building itself is very quiet, and is just back from the main road by 80 metres. The owners are extremely helpful with ideas on what to do, and how to get there. Breakfast is superb. I have the lower single room which is small, but i knew this before i booked. There is also a computer in the lounge that guests can use for internet. Overall one of the best B & B's i have stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark19636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 251 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Wonderful B&B professionally run by Susan and Simon owners and proprietors. Both are very helpful offering advice on dining and sight seeing selections. Rooms nicely appointed and equipped, though a bit tight by American standards.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I find reviews, by their nature, highly subjective so I want to state the basis for my ratings. First, my numerous ratings of B&B's (mostly in Europe) are based on comparisons with other similar B&B's. You certainly can't compare a typical European B&B with a New York Ritz Carlton suite, so when I rate a European B&B it's in comparison with other similar B&Bs. We look for B&B's that offer location, breakfast and cleanliness at a good value. We don't spend a lot of time in our room so things like TV's or game rooms have no value to us and aren't considered in our ratings.

That being said Simon and Susan really know how a B&B should be run. Of the nine B&B's we stayed in on this trip this was the best run. It's a bit of a challenge to find as it's back off the main road but that's not too uncommon for B&B's in the UK. Parking is tight but Simon always made sure we had a spot. The rooms were large and nicely decorated. The beds were comfortable and there were actually TWO side chairs (not very common in typical B&Bs). Simon has a great sense of humor and is very helpful. He really appears to enjoy running a B&B and it shows. We do a lot of homework about places we travel to but Simon gave us some great suggestions and do's and don't do's in the area. Having a car on Cornwall is not absolutely necessary but it really helps. There's a hop-on/hop-off bus system connecting several towns on Cornwall but they are few and far between and ponderously slow. Go by car but be aware that parking can be a challenge. The breakfasts were to order and were very good and served in a very pleasant elegantly done dinning room. If you're visiting Cornwall we'd highly recommend the Camilla House.

Room Tip: We were in a room on the very top floor and it was very quiet with views overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldQuester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent a most enjoyable week early July at Camilla House. Graciously received by our hosts, Simon and Susan, our accommodation was comfortable and tastefully furnished, adding to the feeling that this holiday was special and a real treat. What a breakfast! Prepared with care and tastefully presented and served. Camilla House is ideally situated to explore Penzance as well as the surrounds by bus and train as well as motor vehicle. We particularly enjoyed the view of the bay and the closeness to the sea and fell asleep at night to the cry of sea gulls. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syphus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I went to Cornwall to take photographs for a book about the Cornish miners who went to Mexico in the 19th century. My wife and I stayed here for three nights and we just loved the place! The building is beautiful and the rooms are cozy, clean and luxuriously furnished; the bathroom was perfect. The staircase walls are decorated with extraordinary photographs and the general atmosphere is one of good taste and unpretentious elegance. Food was excellent and Susan and Simon make you feel perfectly at home. Definitely the best!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diego E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at Camilla House for three nights as a honeymoon. We were greeted with tea and advice regarding what was nearby that may interest us and how to get there etc. The room was comfortable and clean and had all the facilities we required. The breakfast was well catered with plenty of choice, including kippers which went down very well! The B&B is situated near the town which is perfect for eating out in the evenings and within walking distance of the bus/train station which was very handy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shopgirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Only stayed one night at Camilla house as part of a short midweek tour, last minute booking after seeing it on website, what a good choice, great welcome with a cup of tea and Simon took the trouble to personalise a map of Penzance with places to eat after asking our preferences .Very nice room, great breakfast, very professionally run. The welcome pack in the room is bang up to date and packed with information which would have been very useful on a longer stay. Next time we'll take advantage of the free Bikes (donation to charity) to explore the immediate area.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back, next time would choose front of house Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 3 in Penzance
849 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#2 of 3 in Penzance
506 reviews
7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,773 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
60 reviews
0 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 84 in Penzance
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camilla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camilla House

Address: 12 Regent Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: $145 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Camilla House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camilla House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camilla House Hotel Penzance
Camilla Hotel Penzance
Camilla House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing