We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Artist Residence Cornwall
Ranked #9 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Location was excellent, a short walk to the station, the front or the shops. Our room was lovely - clean, well decorated and with excellent facilities. The staff were very welcoming and bought a pot of tea up to our room on arrival. Breakfast offered lots of choice and was delicious. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet_MikeWolvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 587 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

Really lovely place throughout. Lots of things have been well thought out such as the BeeKind toiletries (to help save bees) to the unlimited tea. We stayed in The Picture Room (11) which was spotless and had a roll top bath and rain shower. We parked in the streets nearby. Good place to base yourself to see West Cornwall - Marazion, Land's End, Mousehole etc. In terms of shopping try St Ives or Truro.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlienewey, Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear LaDell1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review.

We are so please that you enjoyed your stay with us! The Picture Room is rather lovely- a personal favourite :-)

We hope to see you again soon either in Penzance or our sister hotel In Brighton!

Kind Regards
Mel and Jill
Artist Residence Penzance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Lovely building, lovely room, lovely arty stuff, lovely food, lovely people!! Couldn't ask for more. Highly recommend. Good value too. The breakfast was one of the best I've had in my assorted travels and kept me going all day. I want to find an excuse to go to Brighton now.....

Room Tip: The room we had was Nautical Tale with king size bed, very comfy and a glimpse of sea from window. Q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlienewey, Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Frances L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay!

We hope you find an excuse to visit our sister hotel in Brighton soon :-)

Kind Regards

Mel and Jill

Artist Residence Penzance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I had a very short stay in this lovely guesthouse. With a late checkin and early departure the staff where super helpful in ensuring I had eaten and had breakfast in my fridge ready for me in the morining. The entire place was lovely and clean, very warm and enviting. The fun designs of the rooms where well thoughtout and I had great fun drawing on the doors in the blank room! Would love to visit again and try another fun room out! Appreciated the 'Beekind' shower gels in support for the bee poputlation.

Room Tip: If you are arty and creative and love to doodle I would recommend the 'Blank room' (room 9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlyA249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlienewey, Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear KarlyA249,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your short stay! AR Blank is a super fun room to stay in :-) We don't want to have to take all the doodles down at the end of the season!

We hope to see you again in the future in Penzance or maybe in out sister hotel in Brighton!

Kind Regards
Mel and Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The room was wonderful with lots of colours though not too many. There there was very good atmospher in the room, so it was easy to relax exploring the fantastic area. This is also true for the rest of the hotel, so we really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was excellent and the service exquisite!

Room Tip: Ben gray is a wonderful room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlienewey, Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Bettina H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay!

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast! We take great pride in the most important meal of the day!

We hope to see you again in the future in Penzance or maybe our sister hotel in Brighton!

Kind Regards
Mel and Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Spacious, comfortable room, friendly, helpful staff, good location and best breakfast of our trip! Close to the promenade on a side street. A fun place to stay. There are some good restaurants around and good walks. Penzance has a nice feel to it- not too gentrified- and this place has a nice quirky quality that works well for it.

Room Tip: Can't remember its name- king size bed, butterfly motif: really a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlienewey, Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi Lucia R,

Thanks so much for writing this lovely review! We are so pleased that you found our rooms so comfy, and enjoyed breakfast so much.

We're very happy also that you enjoyed Penzance, we love it here it here too :)

Thanks again,
Kind Regards,
Jill and Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Lots of places try to be a bit trendy and fail but this succeeds without apparently trying..... Very clean, comfortable and relaxed with a great breakfast but more importantly great staff..... Very good location and reasonably priced....
Highly recommended

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank gezzabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlienewey, Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Hi gezzabel,

Thank you so much for this fantastic review, its always amazing to hear positive feedback and gives us all a real boost and puts a spring in our step!

We are always pleased when guests enjoy breakfast here at Artist Residence, its so important to us and we take great pride in it. Thank you also for mentioning the staff, we all love it here and feel that comes across in our service.

Thanks once again, and we hope to see you again very soon!

Jill and Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
821 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#2 of 82 in Penzance
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#64 of 82 in Penzance
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Residence Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence Cornwall

Address: 20 Chapel Street | The Georgian House, Penzance TR18 4AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: $109 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Artist Residence Cornwall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on historic Chapel Street in the heart of Penzance in a Grade 2 listed Georgian mansion. All our rooms and apartments are individually designed. Our artist rooms feature individual murals painted on to the walls by local artists. Our house rooms are eclectically decorated in a vintage style with Farrow and Ball paint, reclaimed furniture and limited edition prints. All rooms have a flat screen TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities and are en suite. Cooked breakfast is available in our newly refurbished dining area and is made using the finest local ingredients. You can also relax in our rustic neighbourhood restaurant. The Cornish Barn is open all day for breakfast, lunch and dinner, offering a seasonal menu of seafood, meat and vegetarian put together by chef Gareth Spencer using local Cornish produce. The hotel is just a five-minute walk from Penzance train station making us the perfect base for exploring West Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Artist Residence Cornwall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Cornwall Penzance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing