We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Artist Residence Cornwall
Nearby Hotels
$194
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Penzance(Penzance)
$150
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Union Hotel(Penzance)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Beachfield(Penzance)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dock Inn(Penzance)
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$83
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveler rating
416
153
41
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
153
41
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquirky hotelsister hotellocal artistschapel streethomemade granolaadmiral benbow pubgreat decorroll top baththe barnbreakfast includedcentral locationthe pubpubs and restaurantsone night staylovely roomfantastic staytop floor
Filter
Updating list...
458 - 463 of 632 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed in the Muju room - great for dreamers with beautiful waves, blues and splashes of orange. Went and met the artist at his gallery in St. Ives. (Loved the design so much,) As it's the loft room it hasn't any large windows so feels a little closed in, but enough light with loft window where you can see out to the water when you're standing up, and skylight. Up 54 stairs so you need to be fit! Clean and comfy bed & bathroom. Lovely breakfast with freshness and local food. Great service, friendly and welcoming. Would love to spend longer and see some of the other rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlienewey, Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Jennie G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us review!

We are so pleased that you loved Muju World and went and met him in St Ives, his work is truly magical.

We take a lot of pride in breakfast and so we are always happy when people enjoy it!

We hope to see you again in Penzance or maybe in out sister hotel in Brighton!

Best Regards
Mel and Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I booked this in the early autumn and stayed with a lifelong friend. The Artist Residence is a unique quirky place and appears to be well run but we were dissappointed as when we booked online with Booking.com they showed pictures overlooking a lovely bay which led to the impression that this was their 'seafront view' when clearly they were just library pictures of the area.... The Artist Residence is actually located in a central streeted position in the town, overlooking rooftops to the harbour, but it is very convenient for all local restaurants and amenities. However the staff were charming, friendly and helpful and the food served was excellent. The highlights of our trip in Penzance was the superb Penlee House Gallery and Museum and nearby Trengwainton Gardens.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 896MariaC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlienewey, Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hi 896MariaC123,

Thank you so much for taking a time out to write us a review, we really appreciate it!

I'm so glad you enjoyed your time here in Penzance, I remember you well and you were lovely guests...

I can only apologise for the misleading pictures on booking.com, you have raised a valid point and we are looking into getting them changed to a view that better represents what you can see from the rooms.

Penlee museum and Gallery and Trengwainton Gardens are lovely, I'm not surprised they were a highlight for you :)

Thank you again!
Kind Wishes,
Jill and Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed recently in the Picture Room. Quality fittings and furnishings and a really comfortable bed with nice touches like classic books (if only we'd had the time to read them!)
The breakfast was superb, as others have previously mentioned, probably the best breakfast in a hotel or B&B we've had.
If you have the extra cash, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gramic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlienewey, Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Hi gramic,

Thank you so so much for your lovely review! We are utterly THRILLED you enjoyed our breakfast enough to say it was the best you have ever had! That is such a wonderful compliment and we will be sure to pass that on to our cook and all other staff. We are also glad you enjoyed the picture room so much and thank you for mentioning the books, we do feel they add a little bit of extra charm.

Thank you once again and we do hope to see you again soon :)

Best wishes,
Jill and Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I recently enjoyed a pleasant stay here with my partner. Mel was friendly and helpful as were all the staff who made us feel very welcome.
We chose one of the smaller rooms called "Dots Enough" - perfect for our needs and a short, three-night stay. If staying in Penzance again for longer, I might opt for larger room if only to experience another of the uniquely-designed interiors.
The communal area, used for breakfast, is filled with interesting, local art pieces providing a very cool space for hanging out on a rainy afternoon.
The hotel is in a great location - a street full of interesting shops and cafes with two great centuries-old pubs directly opposite the hotel.
Overall, this is definitely a fun, friendly and convenient place to stay when visiting Penzance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlienewey, Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Phillip N,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your 3 night stay in Penzance.

Chapel Street is indeed one of the best for cool quirky shops and lovely pubs!

We kind of like it when it rains so people come and hang out in the gallery with us!

We hope to see you again in Penzance or maybe in our sister hotel in Brighton?

Kind Regards
Mel and Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

A great place from start to finish. Rooms are all individual and quirky but in a quality way. Couldn't fault the staff. They couldn't have been more helpful, and were genuinely friendly and welcoming, rather than going through the motions as at most hotels. Breakfast was a highlight, can't remember the last time I saw such a great breakfast menu. I have already recommended the place to a few friends, only shame for us is that we love so far away.

Room Tip: If you have heavy bags / mobility issues, make sure you speak to the hotel on / before booking so you don't end up with a room on the top floor. There are a lot of stairs to some of the rooms !!!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlienewey, Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Victoria W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review.

We are so happy that you had such a lovely stay, it makes us very happy!

We are so proud of our breakfast menu and are so please when people enjoy their breakfast!

We hope to see you again in Penzance or maybe our sister hotel in Brighton!

Kind Regards

Mel and Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews