We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and unusual hotel in Penzance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artist Residence Cornwall
Ranked #6 of 84 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Artist Residence hotel in Chapel Street is a very unusual and quirky treat of a hotel. Each room has been painted by a different artist. Ours was painted by Jo Peel, and somehow she had managed to recreate in our room the exact view that we could see out of our window, which was of the Admiral Benbow pub (an excellent pub where we happily downed a couple of pints of Doom Bar). The room was beautifully furnished, very comfortable, and the whole hotel a delight. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Chapel Street is a fascinating and beautiful part of Penzance, full of history with some really lovely architecture, and this hotel has got to be the best place to experience it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 612 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just back from three nights at the Artist Residence in Penzance. We had a lovely room (No. 2) at the front which was roomy, beautifully decorated and very clean and fresh. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were helpful and considerate. Despite our room being directly opposite the Admiral Benbow pub it was remarkably quiet, even with the window open at night. The lack of parking is a clear drawback, but was only an issue on one night when we had to park 6-7 minutes walk away - not in itself a problem other than it was the only night we had quite heavy rain, otherwise we managed to park in Chapel Street easily enough. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is the most memorable, friendly and unique hotel I can ever remember staying in in England - fantastic value and really nice, accommodating staff. Perhaps it would be difficult for them to allow things like early check-in/ late check-out in peak season, but when we visited in October the staff went above and beyond to make our stay easy and enjoyable. Also the rooms and gallery were beautifully designed/ decorated and definitely worth seeing for people interested in art and design. I recommend going in off-season and riding bikes around the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fahilekvioerk9834579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just back from Artist Residence, Penzance. Food amazing and staff really helpful. Their recommendations on places to eat made the mini-break too! Rooms very clean.

There's no parking at the hotel which is the only drawback.

Thanks for a lovely stay. I'm sure we will go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlissLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is so quirky that it is a pleasure to stay there. Art adorns the walls as soon as you enter and go all the way up the stairs to all the rooms. The dining room is in an eclectic style with a lovely atmosphere. The quay is 5mins walk away if you are travelling onto the Isles of Scilly as we were. There is also a small car park which is handy as the hotel is centrally located in Penzance. The rooms are individually decorated with a different room, we stayed in the nautical room. A pleasure to stay there!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitehalltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

They set out to make a very average town centre hotel into something with class, and they succeeded. They should do tours so that you can see all the rooms, each of which has it's own artist-designed style. Ours was called Ephemeral, decorated in white, grey and silver with the odd splash of colour - lots of fun. Breakfast in the cafe was different too, with a menu that doesn't include the "full English" but does include Eggs Benedict. We parked outside overnight, but the waiting is limited, so we moved to a large pay and display at the bottom of the hill before 0930.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Artwork on just about every surface, a pleasant atmosphere, and friendly, helpful staff who are always smiling and chatty.
I was given the Ben Gray room which is tucked away in the attic, cosy as anything and has a great view of Newlyn and the Bay as well as fun, bright and cheerful decor courtesy of the artist for whom the room is named. The ensuite was clean and bright with a high-pressure shower, and a quality flat-screen TV was provided along with tea and coffee making facilities and bottled water (not to mention free WiFi, which is an essential in my book as I'm never more than a few feet from my laptop!)
The two-hour breakfast window (08:00 - 10:00) is a boon to lazy slug-a-beds like myself who struggle to get up in the morning, and the breakfast/lunch/gallery space on the ground floor is light and airy and very welcoming.
The only negative for me was that I found the bed uncomfortable - it was too soft for me - and therefore didn't get much sleep, but please don't let this put you off as it's purely a personal thing.
Overall this hotel is a real credit to Penzance - something different and well worth its room-rates. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinkle1083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 3 in Penzance
849 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#2 of 3 in Penzance
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 84 in Penzance
363 reviews
1.4 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#4 of 84 in Penzance
428 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Longboat Inn
The Longboat Inn
#45 of 84 in Penzance
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Residence Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence Cornwall

Address: 20 Chapel Street | The Georgian House, Penzance TR18 4AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: $115 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Artist Residence Cornwall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on historic Chapel Street in the heart of Penzance in a Grade 2 listed Georgian mansion. All our rooms and apartments are individually designed. Our artist rooms feature individual murals painted on to the walls by local artists. Our house rooms are eclectically decorated in a vintage style with Farrow and Ball paint, reclaimed furniture and limited edition prints. All rooms have a flat screen TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities and are en suite. Cooked breakfast is available in our newly refurbished dining area and is made using the finest local ingredients. You can also relax in our rustic neighbourhood restaurant. The Cornish Barn is open all day for breakfast, lunch and dinner, offering a seasonal menu of seafood, meat and vegetarian put together by chef Gareth Spencer using local Cornish produce. The hotel is just a five-minute walk from Penzance train station making us the perfect base for exploring West Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Artist Residence Cornwall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Cornwall Penzance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing