We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artist Residence Cornwall
Ranked #8 of 83 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Artwork on just about every surface, a pleasant atmosphere, and friendly, helpful staff who are always smiling and chatty.
I was given the Ben Gray room which is tucked away in the attic, cosy as anything and has a great view of Newlyn and the Bay as well as fun, bright and cheerful decor courtesy of the artist for whom the room is named. The ensuite was clean and bright with a high-pressure shower, and a quality flat-screen TV was provided along with tea and coffee making facilities and bottled water (not to mention free WiFi, which is an essential in my book as I'm never more than a few feet from my laptop!)
The two-hour breakfast window (08:00 - 10:00) is a boon to lazy slug-a-beds like myself who struggle to get up in the morning, and the breakfast/lunch/gallery space on the ground floor is light and airy and very welcoming.
The only negative for me was that I found the bed uncomfortable - it was too soft for me - and therefore didn't get much sleep, but please don't let this put you off as it's purely a personal thing.
Overall this hotel is a real credit to Penzance - something different and well worth its room-rates. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinkle1083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    133
    32
    11
    7
See reviews for
93
322
36
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

First and foremost, this is a 4 out of 5 review. This hotel (since it really is one) is //very// good and not your usual half-hearted affair.

Positives:
- Very friendly and helpful staff who really seem to like working there :)
- Wonderfully quirky design, fabulously mismatched antique furniture and crockery at breakfast. "Artists" room design is also a very nice added bonus.
- Good location in the nice part of Penzance (away from the pound shops)
- Amazing breakfasts
- Comfy beds
- Nice quality teas, coffees and water in the room

Negatives (sorry):
- Rooms are not so well noise insulated and we found it hard to sleep in the front overlooking the pubs (made worse by a sash window that didn't seal well). Thankfully we were moved to a quieter room at the back/side (No. 6).
- While the rooms are decorated by artists, some of them (5 & 6) could do with a lick of paint/new carpet, but worst than that both bathrooms we stayed in had slightly mouldy showers and the fit and finish was pretty basic. I wouldn't mind but prices were top whack (£105 a night) at the end of Sept. Hopefully a revamp is looming.
- Parking is tricky (but not as bad as I was expecting)
- Quite hard to find any staff at times, no matter how hard we rang the bell we couldn't get any drinks or an evening meal when we wanted, so gave up in the end.

Again //please// do not focus too much on the negatives as this is a very, very nice hotel :)

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be noisy due to sash windows and two pubs opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Guru_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here back in the spring - this time we brought my mom and dad along. It was fantastic. I highly recommend the room called the Picture Gallery - really lovely and spacious. The staff is wonderful - they can't do enough for you!

Room Tip: Both Dolly Divine and the Picture Gallery are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anmarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were a large group with lots of questions. Mel could not have been more helpful. We loved staying at this modern charming hotel. Our room was lovely and bright, our breakfast was great and they made special arrangements for breakfast due to our friends leaving early. I would highly recommend this hotel and really appreciated all of Mel's help. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tleary1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and I wish we'd had longer. Very easy to get to from the train/bus station, situated in the middle of town and close to the Lido and Penlee Gallery. Very friendly people, lovely room with decent sized bathroom and excellent shower, good breakfast, no problems at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baz1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed here a couple of months back, it was definitely a very pleasant stay. The rooms were well decorated and the bed was beautiful. Everything in the room was very well thought out. However the room did feel a bit small but adequate but that might be because of the slightly low ceiling. The breakfast was superb and the service was nice and attentive. Overall this was a little gem in Penzance that we weren't expecting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We spent a long weekend in Penzance and one of the highlights was the hotel and Dolly Divine room. The rooms are all perfectly done and give you an interesting change from other hotels where you get boring samey rooms. The hotel was immaculate and quirky and the staff were really helpful, polite and friendly giving us tips on where to go and eat. The complimentary breakfast was also a plus with a varied selection, all of which were delicious.

The only down side is that i only got to sample one room... so now i'm clearly going to have to return to try the rest out.

Room Tip: You can pick you're own room on the web site and although i never saw the other rooms (except on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaz000187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.5 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
805 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
51 reviews
1.7 mi away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#22 of 83 in Penzance
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Residence Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence Cornwall

Property: Artist Residence Cornwall
Address: 20 Chapel Street | The Georgian House, Penzance TR18 4AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artist Residence Cornwall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on historic Chapel Street in the heart of Penzance in a Grade 2 listed Georgian mansion. All our rooms and apartments are individually designed. Our artist rooms feature individual murals painted on to the walls by local artists. Our house rooms are eclectically decorated in a vintage style with Farrow and Ball paint, reclaimed furniture and limited edition prints. All rooms have a flat screen TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities and are en suite. Cooked breakfast is available in our newly refurbished dining area and is made using the finest local ingredients. You can also relax in our rustic neighbourhood restaurant. The Cornish Barn is open all day for breakfast, lunch and dinner, offering a seasonal menu of seafood, meat and vegetarian put together by chef Gareth Spencer using local Cornish produce. The hotel is just a five-minute walk from Penzance train station making us the perfect base for exploring West Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Artist Residence Cornwall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Cornwall Penzance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing