We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ist evening meal of our holiday and it was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Snappa Cafe & Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blue Snappa Cafe & Bar
Price range: $3 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: located in the heart of penzance the blue snappa is a excellent meeting point to drink eat and catch up. without doubt the blue snappa is penzance best coffee cafe and we only use organic fairtrade coffee and Tea. We locally source all our food and with newlyn fishing port on our doorstep we always get the freshest seafood. open for breakfast,lunch and dinner daily.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ist evening meal of our holiday and it was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

The food was excellent, and the service was friendly and we didn't have long to wait for our food. Thje atmosphere was lively and refreshing.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank violin24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    14
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“don't go if you're in a rush!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We visited Blue Snappa for drinks early on a Friday evening. We ordered wine and beers, not too difficult an order. After 20 minutes of waiting we still had no drinks so my partner went to ask the staff at the bar who were just standing around. When questioned where our drinks were, the staff replied that they thought someone else was preparing our drinks. They arrives shortly after and were good quality, however when going to pay we were suprisedat how expensive the bill was. Almost £25 for a large glass of wine and 4 pints of beer, very steep in my opinion.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolandlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“even better than expected after a recommendation from our hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

We went on a relatively quiet Monday night, but the atmosphere was still welcoming, although the service a little reserved and slow.
The tapas, however, was excellent value, and the portions were generous. the Goat's cheese salad wasn't 'boring' either, lots of nice peppers and mixed leaves.
The calamari batter was perfect, and the Thai fish cakes were better than any I've had outside of a Thai restaurant.
Although it wasn't exactly '5 star' dining, the Blue Snappa does what it does very well, and I couldn't think of any ways to improve it (bar a few more smiles from the waiters! :p) so it's getting an 'excellent' rating.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fenny89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
375 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Modern, friendly cafe bar - a very welcome change to pub grub in this area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We were given a table on a busy Friday night & then offered a better one (before food arrived) when one became available despite being a walk in.
After 5 nights in Cornish Coastal towns we were glad of a break from pub grub/ fish & chips & the food here is good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GayleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great variety of food and drink, excellent location and interesting ambience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Was delicious food, and great value. There was a huge variety of cocktails and other drinks to sample and it was all provided in a lovely environment.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OzKatUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Snappa Cafe & Bar also viewed

 
Newlyn, Penzance
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing