We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Banging Curry” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little India

Little India
Ranked #70 of 178 Restaurants in Penzance
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Authentic Indian cuisine. Friendly staff. Good food at a reasonable price.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Banging Curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I went for the Chicken Balti Jalfrezi. It tasted great, nice little kick to it. My girlfriend had tarka dahl and bombay aloo, which were the vegetarian side dishes. She very much enjoyed the bombay aloo but said the tarka dahl was bland and could of done with being a bit warmer. Naan bread was crisp and fresh. Staff were very friendly. All in all a lovely meal for a reasonable price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    51
    15
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
283 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“No flavour in the food despite great friendly service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Called in on Saturday night after being in Penzance. Looked very busy so thought it must be good if the locals eat there. Got the mixed kebab starter and the sheekh kebab was the only thing with flavour that would expect. The side salad was mostly onion and was so overpowering. We ordered the chicken tikka masala and a lamb rogan josh, the masala tasted only of coconut. It was so strong you could taste the chicken or any of the spices. The Rogan Josh was like lamb stew. The service was great and quick but overall a huge disappointment, very overrated and priced for the food delivered.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a little diamond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

First night we were in Penzance we wanted an Indian takeaway... We went to little India, the food was superb, we enjoyed the lovely friendly aptmosphere whilst waiting for our tea. Very friendly staff. Great little place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Farmerjef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Takeaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Wanting to spend the night in and wanting an Indian, The next best thing is to telephone "little India ! with the order placed over the phone with ease , the food came in a very reasonable time, as just as good as if you had eaten in house.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisWadsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Little Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a take away the other evening after reading a few reviews on here. I ordered lamb pasanda and my wife ordered chicken pasanda. We were both underwhelmed by the bland flavours and extortionate prices charged here. Maybe we're spoilt by the very high standard of curries on offer in Yorkshire. The dish they served us was sweet and a lot like a poor Korma with few spices evident. Maybe we chose wrong, I don't know, but won't be rushing back any time soon. A real shame considering the good reviews on here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevinperree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little India also viewed

 
Penzance, Cornwall
 
Penzance, Cornwall
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to Little India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing