We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying in Penzance before and after travelling tithe Scilly Isles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stanley, Penzance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stanley, Penzance
Ranked #19 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staying in Penzance before and after travelling tithe Scilly Isles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel is very comfortable, the hosts warm and welcoming. Kate was very accomodating. Although not five star, the rooms were excellent, beds comfortable and clean, the ensuites good quality.
I would recommend it to travellers to the Scilly Isles, or to those looking to explore this part of Cornwall.
The situation is superb for both sea views and also the Scillonian.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    32
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
43
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Only a short walk from the train station and ferry dock for the Isles of Scilly, The Stanley is a very good option with cosy rooms and lots of personal touches. Fresh decor and nice furniture really add to the ambience of this seaside retreat as do the great sea/coastal views...Its not only a winner on style but all of the essentials are done very well including a comfortable bed, a good hot shower and a lovely cooked breakfast.

This place has a great deal going for it and in my opinion takes some beating as far as location and value for money are concerned. Acoustics are rather shaky though...Walls and ceilings are on the thin side and it's right on the seafront (main road)...The seagulls wake-up early so remember to bring your ear-plugs...! Fine for a short stopover and would recommend for trips to the Scillies due to the enviably short distance between here and the harbour-side.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRonaldSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed at The Stanley for 5 nights and really enjoyed it. The room on the top floor is reasonably sized as well as the bathroom. The view from the window over the bay is great (providing that the weather allows any view :-)). As the room is in the attic it has a droop over the bed and in the bathroom, where you really have to mind your head. The way up the steep and quite narrow stairway is not suitable for older or not so fit people. But Justin was very helpful with the luggage, therefore I did not have to struggle with it. The room and bathroom are not spotless but clean, although the bedclothes made the impression of being not the freshest with something that looked like dogs' hair (hopefully just that). The breakfast is delicious and substantial, which makes a good start into the day. Kate has tips for the region and is showing interest in what her guests do during the day. The Stanley is situated on the seafront and in easy walking distance from the railway and bus station as well as the town centre. I would certainly return to The Stanley and can recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited for two nights before and one night after a week in the Isles of Scilly. The owners were very friendly and the room had all we wanted, comfortable bed , easy to operate television, a well cooked breakfast. and great views of the sea from the window. The only downside was the shower which had a fixed head but as we have a powerful shower we always will have problems finding one we really like. The hotel is only a few minutes from the ferry to the Isles of Scily and 15 minutes walk from the station so is convenient for all requirements I would not hesitate to book it up again if we ever come back to Cornwall.

Room Tip: for those less able choose a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline4546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights at The Stanley in May 2013 and can happily recommend this as a place to stay if you're planning a visit to south west Cornwall.

The hotel is located right on the sea front and has its' own car park which (at a push) can hold about 8 cars - if you can't get a space we had no problem finding one nearby. The owners are very friendly and welcoming - as is the three legged cat!

The room we had (room 10) was large and comfortable with a double bed and a single but the best feature is the view of the sea. There are 2 chairs provided to make the most of it.

Breakfast is of the traditional type - cereals, yoghurt and the full English. Portions are large and served quickly.

In summary - if you're visiting Penzance then you can do far worse than stay at the Stanley.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel to enjoy the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAT82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The location is excellent with great sea views. The room is very cute, clean and nicely decorated in light, airy colors. This 3rd floor room is not appropriate for someone with health issues or who is very tall. There are several rooms that are easily accessible on lower levels. The food is excellent, great selection and is served in a room with a beautiful view. The Stanley is just across the street from the beach and swimming pool. Parking is a little tight but doable. The innkeeper family is very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine J, Manager at The Stanley, Penzance, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. You comments are important to us and we thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Regards,

Justin Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here in late April 2013 in one of the top floor rooms with a superb sea view. The room is small but well laid out, and the bathroom is a little more spacious, with quite a large shower. The owners are very accommodating and the breakfast was very good, served in a room with large windows overlooking the sea front. Perfectly located for Penzance (round the corner from Chapel Street) and walks to Newlyn or Marazion, and about 15 minutes' walk from the train station. My only small niggle was the toilet, which was quite noisy and slow to refill, but other than that, it was a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kulchershok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine J, Manager at The Stanley, Penzance, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We do appreciate your feedback and thank you for your coments.

Regards,

Justin Hamilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 87 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#6 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Tavern
The Dolphin Tavern
#11 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanley, Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanley, Penzance

Property: The Stanley, Penzance
Address: 23 Regent Terrace | The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Stanley, Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stanley, Penzance Hotel Penzance
Stanley Hotel Penzance
The Stanley, Penzance Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing