We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B and B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stanley, Penzance
Ranked #19 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great B and B”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 days for my wife birthday along with 2 kids. Originally meant to stay Good Friday and Saturday but due to car problems had to postpone for a day giving very short notice. Was told it was not a problem which was very generous as it was Easter Friday which was a very busy time. The b & b is in a fabulous location, a stone throw from the sea. The hotel itself is very clean and little things like very soft towels, de scaled kettle and spotlessly clean room were also pleasing. Breakfast was also very quickly served and to a high standard. Overall I would say this b & b was very good and would recommend it to friends and family. Thanks Justin & Kate.
The Kanes!!

Room Tip: Room 6 was big enough for my wife and I , my 5 year old and a 6month old in a travel cot. It was als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kane44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    32
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
43
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

made a one night stay in march to watch a Rugby match , lovely welcoming couple rooms not huge but perfectly acceptable everywere is spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast everything you could wish for , highly reccomended.Ideally located in walking distance for Penzance center also benefits from parking

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zanger23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Unfortunately we were not happy with the stay at the Stanley May 7, 2012. The lady who greeted us was very gentile.La Our room was on the first floor ensuite double with sea view. The room pretty but cobwebs everywhere. We could not take a shower 'cause the drain was clogged with hair. The bed is not valid because 'you could hear the springs ...

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank roberto p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine J, Manager at The Stanley, Penzance, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
The room in question has now be completely refurbished including a new bed and bedding. There have been no complaints since the refurbishment, in fact quite the contrary.

Regards,

Justin Hamilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I have stayed at the Stanley Hotel on more than one occasion for short breaks over the last few years and it has grown from strength to strength, each time getting better. I only looked on this website out of curiosity and am actually quite shocked how petty some people can be! You are staying in a Bed and breakfast in penzance not the ritz!
On my latest visit i found out all the rooms and hallways have been recently redecorated and rerurbished with new bathrooms, carpets, the lot! Our room was beautiful, lovely views, nice and clean and lovely bedding with everything else we need down to soap, tea/coffee and freeview TV.
The manager Kate has been very accomodating on every visit and the newly decorated 'seaside' dining room is a relaxing place to enjoy your breakfast where i was waited on very professionally.

As i was so happy with my last visit i feel i must correct some of the very pesimistic reviews, from one review, The so called 'caretaker' is an old gentleman whom is family of the manager and quite obviously (if you had common sense) wouldnt be someone to ask for information regarding checking in, directions etc if you would get down off your high horse and actually talk to him you might realise he is a very nice man! The 'barefooted, scruffy man' also mentioned, doesnt work here anymore.
As for Pets and Children, it is a family run business- what else do you expect?? From booking, to check in, rooms, breakfast, service and price i would recommend to anyone. Well done The Stanley i will definatly be back!

Room Tip: I have stayed in room 7, 10, 4 and 3, all with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazz090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 87 in Penzance
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#6 of 87 in Penzance
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#74 of 87 in Penzance
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanley, Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanley, Penzance

Property: The Stanley, Penzance
Address: 23 Regent Terrace | The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Stanley, Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stanley, Penzance Hotel Penzance
Stanley Hotel Penzance
The Stanley, Penzance Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing