We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”
Review of The Tarbert Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tarbert Hotel
Ranked #71 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 1, 2008

Stayed at this hotel twice as a stopover en route to and from Scilly Isles: handy for the station and heliport. Also close to the restaurants in Chapel Street. Bedrooms were comfortable and the included breakfast was excellent with a good choice of freshly cooked fare, such as full english, poached haddock, and eggs benedict. Friendly tv lounge/bar area and very helpful staff with useful local knowledge made this excellent value.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErnestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 20 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2007

My sister and I recently travelled to Penzance and stayed for 3 nights at the Tarbert Hotel. It was one of the most pleasant experiences I have had. The hotel owners and staff were extremely helpful and gave us excellent advice on local restaurants and places to see. The rooms were comfortable and well maintained. I would recommend this hotel to any visitor to Cornwall. Penzance is much less touristy than St. Ives. It has a wonderful small town feeling.
Joanne Marsh
Staten Island NY

Stayed: November 2007
Thank joannemrsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2007

I had a single room for 1 night at the Tarbert Hotel and really enjoyed my stay.

The staff were all very friendly with smiles and enthusiasm - such a nice quality to have greet you when it has been chucking it down with rain!

The place itself is nice and compact with my single room being perfect for me. The flat screen TV was nice to see, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom spotless.

The breakfast selection was varied and though not offering 100s of options (not that it would be expected anyway!) it certainly had enough to satisfy my appetite. It was also great to ask if free-range eggs were used and to be immediately greeted with a firmly positive answer! The breakfast area itself was also well lit, clean and spacious - a very pleasant place to be.

I'm really glad I chose the Tarbert Hotel. It was round the corner from the main streets, within about 5 mins walk to the sea front and (most importantly) had owners who really seemed to want to help as much as they could - this will be my #1 place to stay in Penzance.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangermousetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2007

The hotel was really homely and the staff were very helpful and welcoming. The full English breakfast was lovely and a glass of wine by the open fire in the evening was a must after the drive down to Cornwall.

Would definately use this hotel again. The only problem was that the walls were a little thin!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IOW_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

The Tarbert Hotel is very well located. The hotel was tastefully decorated and clean. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was excellent. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clowndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2007

We stayed at the Tarbert Hotel in September for a weekend. The hotel is in a good location. Guests have keys that open the front door to allow for free movement.

We received a warm welcome. The bar area was like a living room and was cosy with television and a couple of sofas. The restaurant was beautifully decorated in white and cream and was very modern. The breakfast was extremely good and the service prompt. The eggs benedict was superb.

The superior room we booked £200 for 2 nights including breakfast was not as we would have expected, but it did the job. We had a lovely super king size bed which was very comfortable, a sofa and a wide screen tv. I would have liked the little things that make a difference such as a hairdrier (luckily I brought my own) and boxed tissues - more little toiletries for the price.

However, it was a very pleasant stay and would consider returning. The host and his son(?) were very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

The Tarbert is a small hotel centrally located in Penzance offering bright, clean rooms, a quaint bar, and friendly staff. It's location allows walking to town center and most restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank grafwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Morrab Place Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
EasyPZ Backpackers
EasyPZ Backpackers
#6 of 19 in Penzance
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#9 of 82 in Penzance
586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carnson House
Carnson House
#63 of 82 in Penzance
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Longboat Inn
The Longboat Inn
#43 of 82 in Penzance
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarbert Hotel

Address: 11/12 Clarence Street, Penzance TR18 2NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: $45 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tarbert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tarbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbert Hotel Penzance
The Tarbert Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing