We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Penlee House Gallery & Museum
Save
Review Highlights
Local artists

Penlee has three sides to it. The house dates from 1865 and stands in a large park. Upstairs is... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Ian C
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Nice museum, good coffeeshop/snackbar/restaurant

After a walk through Penzance we were tired and ready for a cup of coffee. We ended up in Penlee... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
JimVL
,
Antwerpen, Belgium
Read all 579 reviews
  
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveler rating
403
139
15
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
139
15
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews newlyn school stanhope forbes newlyn artists current exhibition cornish light local history orangery cafe special exhibition excellent exhibition permanent collection wonderful collection beautiful park on display nice cafe free entry west cornwall visiting penzance
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 564 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Penlee has three sides to it. The house dates from 1865 and stands in a large park. Upstairs is the permanent collection with two galleries linked to local history and crafts such as copper, and another gallery with changing works by the Newlyn School of artists.

When we visited, the ground floor galleries were given over to an excellent exhibition related to the artist Robert Borlase Smart, focussed on his paintings of the sea in action, along with other work by his stydents and associates, many from private collections.

Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

After a walk through Penzance we were tired and ready for a cup of coffee. We ended up in Penlee House. A nice surprise. Excellent coffeeshop and snackbar but than we saw what was on in the Museum.Paintings by Robert Borlase Smart. One of the leaders of the Newlyn School. Excellent exhibitions. We walked through the rest of the Museum as well and found an excellent collection of the Newly School artists and and painters influenced by them. Small but more than worthwhile.

Thank JimVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great exhibition running through the work of an exceptional artist.
Helpful staff and curators ready to discuss any aspect of the work. Todd on site cafe

1  Thank Curious41228672550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With friends visiting we went on a rainy day to Penlee House, a true favourite of ours. We saw the Borlase Smart exhibition which complemented the Stanhope Forbes exhibition we had seen previously. Well worth the entrance fee. But the permanent display and the very interesting and entertaining small museum are excellent too. The cafe is great, the gardens are lovely. What's not to like?

Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

Wonderful little gallery featuring local history and changing artists.
Great cafe on site too. Lovely staff.

Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

What an absolute delight this place is. Welcoming staff and environment set you off on the right foot and that makes all the difference. There was an exhibition of paintings by Robert Borlase Smith an artist new to me and I was lucky enough to enjoy the guided tour of the exhibition which was very informative and put the pictures into their context. It added so much to the viewing and enjoyment of his excellent paintings, drawings etc and the personal artefacts were good to see as well.....not to be missed. The Newlyn School exhibition on the second floor, well, as good a collection of paintings as I have seen anywhere, the amazing talent on display makes it an absolutely wonderful room to enjoy. Do not miss the museum part either as this is a fascinating mixture of history and characters with an exceptional collection of artefacts and biographical information on the great of the area such as Sir Humphrey Davey and Guy Gibson. My visit to Penlee House was the highlight of my recent visit to Cornwall.

1  Thank NB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

A true gem in Penzance set in the Penlee Park for viewing classic Newlyn School paintings as well as the excellent current exhibitions. Run by wonderful helpful people and after the culture we enjoyed an excellent snack in the Orangery Cafe.

1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

I took my adult god daughter and we both loved all the exhibitions, especially the "Lamorna" Birch one. The Newlyn artists are heavily featured, and I love their work.

1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

The work of S J Lamorna Birch was not entirely to our taste, but he was clearly an important artist of the Newlyn school and the exhibition at the Penlee Gallery was well-displayed. We also enjoyed a glimpse into other aspects of the area - prehistoric remains and industry as well as art.

Thank Libra_K1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

The Penlee House Gallery has an extensive collection of paintings that capture the history of Newlyn and tell the stories of those who lived and worked there in years gone by.

Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews