We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience.”
Review of Minack Theatre

Minack Theatre
Ranked #1 of 66 things to do in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This open-air theatre is dramatically situated on the cliffs at Porthcumo, near Land's End, and hosts a season of plays and musicals from May to September.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Experience.”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you don't enjoy the play, you can just watch the greatest scenery in the country. They have a good selection of material from very good professional and amateur troops.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 335KenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,128
    491
    89
    32
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollaston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Amazing place!!!!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Unfortunately visiting when no productions are on - but enjoyed a vey windswept visit, fantastic views down to the beach. Very cleverly laid out theatre - the atmosphere must be incredible watching a play here, especially when it's at night. Would love to return - probably won't as we live such a long distance away.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NorthantsAquababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We suffered for our dose of art, willingly :)”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We've been twice to the Minack (June 2011 and Sept 2013) and at each visit had a great time though our backsides wouldn't agree but heh, some of us are willing to suffer for our art:) I can't even remember the title of the first play we saw but I do remember laughing a lot.........it was a funny play, after all. I can remember being overawed by the whole experience hence a return visit and that felt exactly the same. That was a funny play too, The Thirty Nine Steps but unfortunately we'd already seen the original performed at the Criterion, London so it didn't quite grab us as it could have done even so, the acting was top notch and very clever.The setting, as so many others have said, is beautiful as is the story behind the building of the Minack. Sometime there are seals to be seen as well as the occasional boat and if there its lightening over the sea consider yourself lucky because that is stunning to watch.
We haven't had chance to go in the museum yet, always having Bo the Dog with us but we will one day.
There is only one let down and that is the food either from the cafe or the little shack at the top of the arena. Nothing interesting just very, very simple stuff and quite pricey. Whilst it's not a destination for food I expect if you are planning a whole day there this could be annoying. Still, you can take your own or do what we do and eat before, hah, or even ask those around if you could dip into theirs, after all you're practically sat in and on their laps which causes everyone to become soooo very friendly.
We are returning again next year and I only hope Wuthering Heights or some equally atmospheric play will be on the week we are there.
I intend to take a thicker cushion and maybe a bottle of gin but perhaps, given the steepness of the seating that could prove to be fatal, literally - theatrical as well, methinks.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just simply wow”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

What a place to visit.incredible views and certainly the performance we saw was terrific. Word of warning though' if the performance you are seeing finishes after dark take a torch with you. The lighting to see your way out is bad .That is the only down side however, my wife and I were completely in awe of the whole setup. A must to visit .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our visit was recommended by our host at a B & B elsewhere in Cornwall. The day did not start well with rain falling (I guess to be expected in Cornwall during October) but by mid-morning the sun had appeared in a cloudless blue sky. On arrival at the theatre, we parked in the smallish adjacent car-park (no charge but donations invited towards upkeep) and walked the short distance to the main entrance we gained access to the theatre at the OAP rate of three pounds.

MONEY VERY WELL SPENT to be able to witness the setting created by the foresight and determination of one very remarkable lady in the 1920 -30's. Armed with the most basic of tools and with the assistance of her gardener, Rowena Cade planned, built and financed this theatre hewn from the rocky cliff face at the bottom of her garden by these two hardy souls.

Nowadays, there is something for everyone to enjoy from Easter to the end of September, namely drama, opera, musicals, Shakespeare, comedy and concerts.

Be warned, this is an OPEN AIR theatre where performances are only cancelled in EXTREME conditions. There is NO SHADE during the daytime performances and warm clothing is recommended during the evenings. The seats, cut from rock are HARD.

Your seat will face the open sea and you will be perched high up the cliff but you will enjoy the view of a magnificent beach to your left. People were bathing in the sea during our visit in October.

Sadly, no rehearsals or performances were taking place during our visit so we could not enjoy the full benefit of this visit. There IS a wheelchair accessible seating area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hartington-Smythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minack Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Minack Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing