We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still an amazing place”
Review of Minack Theatre

Minack Theatre
Ranked #1 of 66 things to do in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This open-air theatre is dramatically situated on the cliffs at Porthcumo, near Land's End, and hosts a season of plays and musicals from May to September.
England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Still an amazing place”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've visited the Minack theatre on three / four occasions. This time in February we had a stunning clear day - the views from the theatre are amazing.

The Minack is one of those places where you have to say "wow"!

We'll be going back in the not too distant future.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Round_t_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,954
    466
    84
    28
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Amazing Minack Theatre”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I fully recommend a visit to Minack Theatre, built on the side of the cliff, with stunning views, was well worth the trip. I am not one for the theatre, but this was amazing to see, built by one woman, Rowena Cade and her gardener. They built the theatre into the rocks on the cliffside, absolutely amazing. We visited the cafe which had excellent views over the sea front.
An absolute must see!!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RMC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable attraction”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Went here with my wife on my birthday trip. As a theatre-maker, I love seeing different spaces and this is one of the most unique that I've been able to visit. This amazing little theatre built by hand by an incredible woman is a testament to how important theatre is to all people. The grounds are wonderful to walk around and the exhibition is concise and well thought out. This venue can be experienced in 30 minutes or a few hours if you want. I highly recommend going, though had we been able to see a show there it would have been even better.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing Minack”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

How one women could have the vision and the drive to build this theatre out of the rocks is beyond amazing...The veiw and the sheer scope of the project is almost impossible to believe and yet she did it and did it with out any of our modern day equipment... An absolute must see!!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“theatre”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Went to see this place by accident years ago and have always promised myself I'd go back there. Loved the place so much that we booked tickets to see a play,and was not disappointed. If you're lucky enough to do the same, take a cushion to sit on, the 'seats' do get uncomfortable, and take a blanket as the sea breeze can be chilly, even in summer, unless the temperature is very high,,lol

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minack Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Minack Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing