We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Position”
Review of Minack Theatre

Minack Theatre
Ranked #1 of 65 things to do in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This open-air theatre is dramatically situated on the cliffs at Porthcumo, near Land's End, and hosts a season of plays and musicals from May to September.
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular Position”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

A really interesting diversion on our trawl around Cornwall. We spent a delightful hour wandering around the theatre itself - a photographers dream. Lovely cafe and a really nice exhibition/film.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank whitehoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,213
    505
    91
    34
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crantock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not so much of a garden visit as I thought it might be....”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Amazing place and a lasting legacy to the lady who created it .... privileged or not she put in a lot of hard labour......!!

After reading about it in 'The Garden' - I just had to visit......

A little disappointed the garden area wasn't a little bigger - but in truth the whole experience was a great one - bearing in mind it was January I was still impressed with the fauna and flora. Don't forget to make the most of the garden area immediately outside admissions - something to do after your visit to the main event!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dannyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Minack is a wonderfully dramatic setting with a great story behind it. The gardens are gorgeous too.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cassandra2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton England
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Minack Theatre”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Have visited Cornwall many times but only this year got to visit this wonderful site. What I had been missing! This amazing place! Built by a lady with a lifetime dream, still working on it until she died at the age of 91 I believe. Built on the lines of a Roman amphitheatre, surrounded by a turquoise sea and blue, blue skies (on my day) it was spectacular. After entering the building, there was a filmed commentary and pictures and story telling everywhere. Entry was only four pounds. If you are ever in Penzance, don't miss it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank prat2007chett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Truly Stunning”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The views from this theatre are second to none. Probably the most stunning theature in the whole country. The play was also terrific, and the staff were very friendly and helpful in directing us to our seat. Very busy so would suggest booking tickets in advance!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CQ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minack Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Minack Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing