We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just full of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Minack Theatre

Minack Theatre
Ranked #1 of 64 things to do in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This open-air theatre is dramatically situated on the cliffs at Porthcumo, near Land's End, and hosts a season of plays and musicals from May to September.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just full of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The place is an outdoor theatre with a museum and restaurant.
Everything about the place screams a liftime of dedication, love of the arts and real cornish history. The views are truely breathtaking and the landscape is as rugged as one can get.
I would implore everyone to go to this place at least once in their lifetime. It was a real shame we could not stay for the show but we had other commitments.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank petergeddes138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,889
    460
    81
    28
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Fantastic achievement and very good cafe. Lovely views.A magical place to visit.Would love to go back for a performance one day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of our holiday highlights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Didn't quite know to expect but so glad that we went as it was one of the highlights of our holiday.
It was well worth the £3 each admission fee( senior citizens) and fortunately the day we visited, the "Making of the Minack" was performed by an actor portraying the part of Rowena Caide's gardener relating stories of the theatre's history, he was excellent, very funny and made the visit for us.We enjoyed our lunch in the small on site cafe overlooking the stunning Curno beach and wandering around in the warm sunshine admiring the many unusual rockery plants. The toilets are immaculate. It's worth visiting the excellent little museum on site before you wander down to the theatre to appreciate this spectacular place. Free parking. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank FitzGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-On-Sea
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“down but not out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were so dissapointed when we decided not to attend the last night of the proms show at the end of the season due to the rain that we decided to just go for the day visit a few days later.

Weather was amazing(typically) and the views and atmosphere of the theatre never fail to amaze. Its also well worth a walk down the side of the cliffs(or the road for easier route)to Porthcurno beach on a nice day

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank pzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Worth looking at and easily visited on return from Lands End. Scenery around the site was very good and visit coincided with a live performance which enhanced the experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank randhMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minack Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Minack Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing