We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby Chic!!!”
Review of The Abbey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Abbey
Ranked #48 of 84 Penzance B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My daughter and I had what's known as The Apartment and it was wonderful!A Book lined large lounge for our own use and 2 double bedrooms, with a lovely bathroom. Comfortable beds (nice to have blankets instead of duvets) and the views over St Mounts Bay were beautiful. Breakfasts to die for and very attentive/helpful staff. The weather (being typically British) was not good so the lounge was ideal for curling up with a book/crossword or just watching TV. Would like to think I can return there some day.

Room Tip: Any rooms facing the sea/harbour would be great but I would have liked any of them - the quality of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retired26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 112 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

You know what a fishbowl is, the garden looks-out upon the living room/library. I have attached several images of the interior and exterior, and much of everything is like the three sofas in the LR/L, you just sink into it until you think this is home. The decor is layered, when you think you have breathed it all, more pops into view like fragrance. My room had a magnificent tub, views of the garden, and double doors. How much time is left..before I must leave this luxury. Note, this is not a timeless country estate, but it feels like it is, someone enjoyed putting it together.
The location is overlooking the harbor, and the dry dock activity can be very pronounced if you are not out in the truly amazing countryside, my visit in May was the time of everything coming green, and sun, before the vacation time. A 5 minute walk to downtown, and it seems like everybody is there, these hardy people so far from London town. It is like an island, walls of water must fall all winter though I was lucky. Next door, Untitled Restaurant is superb, and the only drawback is you descend 50 steps to your hotel door, when what is needed is a good hearty walk before retiring, oh you can but when is bed so easy? Uphill 200' is the Benbow Pub, a kind of disneyland of pirates and rough smart barmaids, look out twice, them and fried food if you must. Forget proximities, my amusement is taking pictures when conversations do not avail. Lots to do and see in and out of this hotel, but getting back to my beginning, why leave?

Room Tip: There is an adjoining aptment, more masculine, rigorous floor mats, not carpets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bapstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We loved this hotel, it immediately felt like home to us. The bedrooms are large and very cozy and decorated English County/Eclectic. The Drawing Room with a huge, cozy fireplace calls for nightimes spent in with feet up, reading your favourite novel or conversing with others. Just push the buzzer and the staff are there to make you a drink, will stay and visit if you like! Thanks Ben! Great service and great food in sumptuous surroundings, what more could you want? Our 2 girls (20 and 30 something) loved it as well. It is by far our favourite place to stay in England. One problem though...once you are there, you just want to stay in, you don't feel like touring around to all the sights and villages. Oh well, there's always next time!

Room Tip: We liked staying in the Main Building rather than the separate Apt, because we loved the Drawing Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Very comfortable and quiet ; well furnished, lovely sitting room and great breakfasts!
Staff slightly distant, and difficult to contact by e-mail or phone........but a great spot for a relaxing break.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

The Abbey Hotel is a fabulous period property with more character than you can shake a stick at

Having stayed in the Apartment, we found it to be very warm, comfortable and appointed well enough for our needs

The breakfasts are exceedingly good and the quality of the ingredients used faultless

There is a particularly quiet and relaxing atmosphere throughout the place and its location within Penzance itself is excellent

During our stay we found the staff to be friendly and if there was anything or information we needed we just asked and all help was offered

There seems to be much debate as to how to categorise/compare The Abbey i.e. Bed and Breakfast, Hotel, or even like a large country house!

Frankly, it doesn’t matter as it certainly met our requirements whilst on holiday and had all the benefits and facilities of a stay at a hotel. Fortunately you do know that you’re not staying in a hotel chain

The Abbey is definitely a one off and a fabulous one too – long may it continue

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seashellplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed for three nights (on the three nights for two deal) and very much enjoyed my visit. Breakfasts were excellent and the room cosy and comfortable. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the hotel had a most pleasing ambience. Plenty of places to eat in the town and the location of the hotel - in walking distance of shops, harbour and station - was ideal. I will certainly go again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canyonrider62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Wonderful suite, very luxurious, clean and beautifully presented. Absolutely perfect for a romantic birthday treat. Hotel staff made us feel very at ease in the quirky but opulent surroundings.

The biggest drawback of our stay was having to prise ourselves out of the most comfortable bed and then check out after a delicious breakfast made with the tastiest ingredients.

The Abbey strikes the perfect balance of wonderful accommodation, making us feel both pampered (and to be fair, far posher than we are) and comfortable.

Perfect. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.5 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 3 in Penzance
849 reviews
4 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#2 of 3 in Penzance
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,773 reviews
0 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#8 of 84 in Penzance
612 reviews
0 mi away
The Coldstreamer Inn
The Coldstreamer Inn
#1 of 1 in Gulval
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey

Address: Abbey Street, Penzance TR18 4AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: $113 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a rare gem, a hotel that refuses to enter the modern world, choosing instead to linger in its serenely elegant past. The feel is of a smart country house, and the drawing room – roaring fire, huge gilt mirror, walls of books, rugs on stripped floors – is hard to beat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Penzance
The Abbey Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing