We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delightful B&B/boutique hotel”
Review of The Abbey

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penzance
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Abbey
Ranked #48 of 81 Penzance B&B and Inns
oxford UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“delightful B&B/boutique hotel”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We came for a long anniversary weekend & booked directly through the Hotel. It is housed in an 17th century building, with some early 19th century updating so it has a more Georgian/Victorian feel. The eight rooms are up a large and imposing staircase, but first you come past the gorgeous drawing room, where we were served a welcome coffee by a friendly checkin lady. In the evenings, you can sit and read books from the library around an open fire. Every room is decorated with unique antique and vintage pieces collected over a lifetime by the proprietress Jean Shrimpton. We loved the eclectic feel of the place; it is warm and has the feel of a boutique hotel rather than a B&B.

Breakfast is served from 8-10 a.m. in a lovely room with an open fire. We sampled scrambled eggs with salmon, smoked haddock poached in milk, kippers, & a full English breakfast. We're foodies and could tell that the cook used high quality ingredients -- absolutely delicious. Everything is made to order, so you need to make some time, but it is worth it.

We stayed in room 7, at the top of the building. The room is beautifully decorated with a gorgeous bed. It has the advantage of being tucked away and feeling very private, but the disadvantage that you have to cross the (private) corridor to go the shower room/bath room.

The Abbey has no restaurant, & no room service etc..., but as it is located right in the centre of town, and there is also an adjoining restaurant, that isn't much of a problem.

Finally, a tip: if you drive to the hotel, the parking is to the back of the hotel on a very narrow street, and you may miss it the first time you drive past (as we did)

Room Tip: the website has a good guide to the rooms, we liked room 7, but it has the disadvantage of a bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AandM2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    16
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
55
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This was our second stay here, and it did not disappoint- our room was fabulous, with huge windows overlooking the bay towards St Michaels Mount. We entered the seperate bathroom through double doors and it was very spacious with a view of the sunny little garden at the back of the hotel.
Breakfast was delightful, we felt like guests in a private house and they even lit the fire one morning when it was unseasonable chilly. Very comfortable & relaxing, and lots of interesting books & artefacts around and in the drawing room

Room Tip: Room 1 was our choice, but please don't book it when we next want to go !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DunroaminAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed at The Abbey for two nights on a brief honeymoon (it's a short walk from the station if you come on the overnight sleeper from London). We were looking for somewhere relaxing and characterful with a hint of luxury, and found it.
They were very helpful about the fact that we had arrived in Penzance, a bit travel-weary, at 9am, and let us hang out in the beautiful lounge for a few hours before they let us into our room early (I had checked this out in advance with them), long before official check-in time (which is 3pm).
We stayed in Room 1, which is stunning, with direct views out over the sea towards St Michael's Mount, and has a luxurious bathroom ensuite. The bath was fabulous, but if having a proper shower is important to you, you should pick a different room.
The whole place is beautifully furnished, and the garden is breathtakingly pretty - you will wonder if you have stumbled into a child's fantasy of a secret garden.

I just had a few little niggles, which made me feel a bit less pampered than I had expected: there were no spare rolls of toilet paper in the bathrooms; there was only one hot-chocolate sachet in the room (alongside lots of regular teabags and instant coffee sachets). When I pointed this out, they told us to help ourselves to the teapigs in the breakfast room, which was a great solution. The cooked breakfast was really tasty, but they didn't always offer toast unless we asked for it, which meant that it wasn't as filling as it could be. All tiny niggles, which they fixed instantly as soon as we asked - it's just that at this price, I didn't feel that I should have to ask.

To sum up, you are paying to stay in a wonderfully furnished, historic house, with friendly and helpful service - just be aware that it will feel more like a luxury B&B than a luxury hotel.

Room Tip: Room 1 has great views, and a wonderful bath, but no shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Lovely place to stay, with nice Apartment. We stayed at end of July with our daughter (6) and it was generally perfectly run. The old building made the acoustics somewhat interesting (plumbing and neighbours) but we had a lovely time. No evening meals but great breakfasts. Plenty of nearby foodie pubs and gastro restaurants. The kitchen in the Apartment could have done with a few more things - sharp knife, cafetiere etc. A bit pricey (£165) but then it was the height of the season. We then swapped - as my wife had to return to work - to smaller room which was equally good but with poor Wifi. But that's no real hardship! Pleasant and approachable staff, willing to help in any way, especially for the quirky demands of a 6 year old!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ps_pause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed in the Suite - full of charm, books, comfortable chairs & beds - quite a home from home. So pleased to find somewhere that really welcomes dogs. We enjoyed the wonderful healthy breakfasts - including a sausage for the dog!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joanna097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Unfortunatley we spent only 1 night here after arriving late because of delays in our travel arrangements. The hotel was a little hard to find and our sattelite navigation tried to send us down an unsuitable road, but once we arrived everything was fine.
We stayed in the suite which is almost like a self contained house - no kitchen, but otherwise everything was there including a large selction of books and CDs. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and a little quirky.
There is nothing anonymous about this place. The windy stairs to the front door of the suite, the eclectic furniture, even the paint scheme were individual.
Breakfast was good.
The view over the harbour to St Michael's Mount would have been better had the wather been clear.
Parking space is limited.
I wish that we had been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Equivoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

For a long time we wanted to visit this characterful and charming little hotel, but the 5 hour train journey from London seemed too long for just a weekend. Although the weather was cold and rainy when we eventually did it, we couldn't have been happier; we could have spent the entire time in the beautiful lounge with the log fire, reading the papers, having drinks, and relaxing in beautiful surroundings that had the feel of a home. The manager and staff were very welcoming, helpful and informative, the bed most comfortable, and the freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast was plentiful: the sign of hotel heaven.

Room Tip: we loved the parrot wallpaper in the bath (no 7)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Syrianoloukoumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#7 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Yacht Inn
The Yacht Inn
#36 of 81 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Longboat Hotel
The Longboat Hotel
#53 of 81 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey

Property: The Abbey
Address: Abbey Street, Penzance TR18 4AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a rare gem, a hotel that refuses to enter the modern world, choosing instead to linger in its serenely elegant past. The feel is of a smart country house, and the drawing room – roaring fire, huge gilt mirror, walls of books, rugs on stripped floors – is hard to beat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Penzance
The Abbey Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing