We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elmsdale Guest House
Ranked #18 of 81 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT B&B!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our group was due to fly out to the Scilly Isles last Monday but at the last minute all flights were cancelled due to fog! We were taken to the "Elmsdale" for an overnight stay before sailing the next morning on The Scillonian. We had a great welcome from Glenis and Dick (who kindly humped all the suitcases to our rooms).Our room was lovely and quiet,clean and bright and very well appointed.The next morning we all had a beautifully cooked breakfast which really set us up for the day.Having stayed in many hotels and B&B's over the decades The Elmsdale ranks amongst the best. As and when we return to Penzance we will certainly try and stay with Glenis and Dick and will happily recommend them to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAUL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
52
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We felt really home in this beautiful environment near to the centre of Penzance. The guesthouse has been renovated with love for the historical details and with a good taste for accomodation. Dick and Glenis were excellent hosts. And they gave more than a perfect B&B-Breakfast. We had nice conversations on interesting topics. Dick gave us a lot of tips for a pleasant stay in Penzance. He also surprised us with a superb service, as we had to pick-up a jacket at the lost-and-found at the helicopter- AirPort. We asked him for the road, but while we were preparing the pickup he already brought us the jacket. So we had more time for visiting the Museum of Art.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annelies D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louweez75
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Elmsdale due to a wedding we were attending locally. Dick was a great host, very informative and friendly. Our room was clean, spacious and well equipped. My only slight negative is that we have a huge room but only a double bed, but I suspect we noticed this more because we have a superking size bed at home! We took Dick's recommendation for dinner at the Turks Head and weren't disappointed. There was a wide choice for breakfast and we opted for the full English which was good. In a good location and we were only disappointed that we couldn't spend more time in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louweez75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Pleasant welcome, bright clean spacious room, breakfast consisted of a good choice of well presented, plentiful food. Good location for exploring local attractions including st. Ives, Lands End and st. Michaels Mount. Parking was not an issue, would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coldperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hi, Last min decision to stay in Penzance overnight! Really pleased we choose to stay at the Elmsdale.
We stayed in a double en suite, slightly higher than we have previously paid, in Devon £64 a night, but think it is what is paid locally.
Lovely & clean, comfortable room. The only small complaint was we had to wait a little while for breakfast to be cooked, which was plentiful when arrived.
Overall would thoroughly recommend.
If you like Indian food, you really must try the Taj

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and i are very pleased to have stayed at Elmsdale guest house the property is very nice and proprietors were most helpful and friendly the rooms are clean and very well decorated every thing you may need is provided for.
The breakfast was well cooked and plenty full again nothing was to much trouble and the owner Dick was very attentive to our needs i would stay here again and most defiantly recommend to any body the price was fair for what you received

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeg1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Dick was extremely friendly and helpful in suggesting places to eat and sights to see. The house was a scenic walk from town, through the park. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We booked a double (room 2) and a twin (room 4). Breakfast was tasty. Tariff was higher than what we have been paying elsewhere, but I think it was standard pricing for the area. Rooms had DVDs and a selection of DVDs to choose from. Towels were a little small but we enjoyed our stay and would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 2 (double) and Room 4 (twin), both comfortable. Twin had a small step down into it that is a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dazman_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#10 of 81 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 81 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dunedin Guest House
The Dunedin Guest House
#17 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmsdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmsdale Guest House

Property: Elmsdale Guest House
Address: Elmsdale Alexandra Road, Penzance TR18 4LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elmsdale is a carefully refurbished Victorian townhouse located in a leafy tree lined avenue running down to Penzance Promenade (sea front). It is located in the Penzance Conservation Area and is convenient for both the sea front and the Town Centre. All guest rooms are en-suite. There is plentiful on-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elmsdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmsdale Guest House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing