We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elmsdale Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penzance
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elmsdale Guest House
Ranked #21 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

I often have to spend 2 or 3 days in Penzance on business and I always choose the Elmsdale. As a single, female traveller you need somewhere you can feel completely comfortable with and this is like home from home. Dick and Glenis are lovely hosts and are extremely helpful. The last time I stayed I wasn't feeling very well and they kindly lent me their hot water bottle! The rooms are clean and spacious and the breakfast is always delicious. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
49
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We booked a double bedroom for three nights over the April bank holiday. We can safely say it was our best b&b experience so far. Not only was the room very clean, cozy, comfortable and competitively priced, but what made the experience special was the warm hospitality of our hosts - Dick and Glenis. From the very first e-mail asking for help with planning the itinerary, to restaurant recommendations, to figuring out transportation, and enjoyable conversations - they were most gracious and helpful. The b&b is very conveniently located on the Alexandra Road which opens on to the promenade. We would highly recommend this and would definitely stay here when in Penzance again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NehaGovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

The room is very clean and comfortable. Dick and Glenis kindly provided me a lot of help and information I need. I was lucky to find such a place to stay after hours' trail along the coast line!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jy03726381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We booked a double and a twin for two nights. Our hosts were organised and helpful on the phone[ in spite of us changing our booking] and sent clear travel directions. The en suite rooms, especially the double, were very spacious and comfortable and included seating. This is an old Victorian house which is freshly decorated and furnished in an up to date manner which suits the property. Everything was spotlessly clean and well heated, which was lovely after beach walks and a late night return after the wedding . Dick and Glenis were friendly and helpful and the wide variety of breakfasts offered were great. The location is also good as you are 5 mins from both beach and town. We will certainly use this excellent value Band B again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for the double overlooking the road. Big and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynjean187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed for four nights. Everything was great!! Room was very clean and attractive, bed was comfortable, good location. We walked to town and to catch buses and train. The breakfast was excellant. The hosts went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and comfortable.

Room Tip: We had the front room which I believe is the biggest. I would ask for it again although it does hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spandsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Quirico d'Orcia, Italy
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

During our short stay in Penzance we really enjoyed our comfortable rooms, after spending so many hours climbing cliffs between The Lizard and St. Ives. Thanks to Mr. Dick for his useful advice! We particularly enjoyed our stop at Botallack, where we shot many "dramatic" pictures!
We hope to be back sooner or later! Dory, Jo, Misha and Jessy

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoriGio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

From the moment of making our telephone booking until the time we left the accommodation the owners were very polite and helpful. We used this B & B for one night on our way out to the Isles of Scilly and again on our return and were grateful to get a place that would take one night stays in August because so many of the other B & B's we tried would not consider us. How lucky we were that they didn't because we could not have found a better to place to stay. Our bedroom with ensuite was well appointed and extremely clean. The breakfasts were good too and the owners kindly let us have our breakfast earlier so that we could catch the ferry. We do not hesitate to recommend 'Elmsdale' and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradelei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#10 of 87 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 87 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmsdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmsdale Guest House

Property: Elmsdale Guest House
Address: Elmsdale Alexandra Road, Penzance TR18 4LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elmsdale is a carefully refurbished Victorian townhouse located in a leafy tree lined avenue running down to Penzance Promenade (sea front). It is located in the Penzance Conservation Area and is convenient for both the sea front and the Town Centre. All guest rooms are en-suite. There is plentiful on-street parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elmsdale Guest House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing