We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good as the last time.”

The Barbican Coffee Shop
Ranked #6 of 10 Coffee & Tea in Penzance
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Windsor, Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Still as good as the last time.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Being on holiday in Penzance again we just had to go back to the Barbican, which we had visited twice last year. The food was as good as ever, I had a cream tea again and my husband had a Cornish pasty which, he said, was excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Portley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    13
    4
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great cream teas and very welcoming”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Always have to go to the Barbican for the quality of the cream teas, friendly efficient service in this old and historic building.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gerardWiltshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Home-made cakes are delicious”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We enjoyed a delicious lunch at the Barbican - I had soup and my husband had a cheese sandwich with salad, followed by a large slice of home-made cake and tea.
Service was good (I ordered at the counter and it was served to us at the table) and we will definitely go there again. We have actually been before on a previous visit to Penzance.
It is not a large venue and you often have to share one of the large tables but this is a delightful little cafe in a historic setting.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

years we have been going to Cornwall and the Barbican is one place that is high up on our list of MUST visit. What a lovely lady owner and what a warm welcome we have always had whether its a cup of tea or a light lunch we have been made just as welcome. All of the food served there is home made and absolutely delicious.Care is taken with everything served and it is easy to see that the extra mile has been used with pride from the owner. Both my wife and myself have between us worked our way through the faultless menu. The home made cakes are to die for and even a pot of tea is served with pride and is spot on every time. I love this Lady to bits, its cupboard love of course, and a tear is welling up in my eye as I wished I was there now with a slice of cake, a pot of tea and a FULL tea bag...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikekc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Little Treasure”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We found this place by accident, but we were delighted with the service and the quality of the food - by far the best toasted sandwich I have ever had! I had to ask what the cheese was only to find its their own combi of other cheeses. The coffee was real coffee freshly made,and the cakes....... hmmm I am now very hungry.
We went twice so its wasn't a fluke, yummy, will be back

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lisachester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barbican Coffee Shop also viewed

Penzance, Cornwall
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to The Barbican Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing