We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marine Discovery

Marine Discovery
Ranked #2 of 7 Tours in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Inspiring sea safari sailing trips aboard a ten metre catamaran, with the winners of the 2013 Responsible World Whale Watch Awards . A voyage on "Shearwater II" gives you the best opportunity to find the marine wildlife of south west Cornwall, including seals, porpoises, seabirds, dolphins, basking sharks and whales. All trips are fully guided with experienced and entertaining guides, who are trained educators. Shearwater II takes just 12 passengers and 2 crew, so you get a great view of the wildlife and the views without having to peer over other people. Please call or email to enquire. Fully licenced and insured NB please remember that sightings of specific species cannot be guaranteed and that we advertise this fact widely. Therefore the most useful and accurate reviews of our company rate us on the factors we can directly control e.g. customer service, politeness, ease of booking, quality of welcome and so on, rather than whether the reviewer saw the exact species they wanted. Marine Discovery is shut between November and March due to weather constraints and winter maintenance. If in doubt, call to check.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Brilliant trip we saw 5 basking sharks and many harbour porpoises unfortunately the dolphins didn't come out to play but seeing sharks swim right under the boat was magical and we're so happy to have supported the research work carried out by the very knowledgeable crew of Marine Discovery. We also got some beautiful photos and would defiantly return next time we're in the area.

Thankyou. =)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VeggieTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    11
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great way to Relax and get a different view of Cornwall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Two families together booked a Marine Discovery Trip. We were blessed with good weather and climbed on board with much excitement, as a Minke Whale had been spotted by the crew on their earlier trip. Unfortunately for us there were to be no whales spotted on our cruise, but having said that it was still a great trip, with our knowledgeable guide Duncan giving us wonderful tips and insights into both the wildlife and the coast.

3 hours was long enough to be on the boat for our 8 year old son, who actually nodded off towards the end of the trip, but for our older girls they couldn’t have been happier sitting on the netting at the front of the catamaran for the whole 3 hours despite the soaking they got. We saw lots of sun fish, as well as the obligatory seals around St Clements Island and lots of different seabirds.

The best bit for me was the change of pace, the simple pleasure of travelling with the wind and seeing Cornwall from a viewpoint that not many of us get. As with all these trips go with an open mind, you may not get to see the big exciting wildlife on every trip, but watching Guillemot’s dive at what appeared to be break neck speed into the sea is something you won’t forget.

A great way to spend a few hours and something that is worth doing at least once in your lifetime

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CathGDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
85 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Booking this trip was a simple process which was done quickly and efficiently by Hannah.

We were unfortunate not to see any dolphins or seals but we did see a basking shark, plenty of seabirds including puffins and a couple of sunfish!
Although it turned out to be a very foggy day, we still had a lovely time, Duncan and Laurens knowledge and commentary spot on! They made our trip worthwhile despite the weather.
You can tell they are are professional and commited to what they do and that they really do care!
First time ive been on a catamaran and really enjoyed the experience.
Will be back next year for another trip, fog or no fog!!

Thanks Marine Discovery!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JabLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great experience form start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have done a couple of trips similar to this before, but this was an excellent trip from the moment we decided to book and sent the initial email, to the moment we got off. Quite often on a weather dependent trip, things can be very complicated – however the booking process was handled smoothly and professionally. We were greeted by the team at their office and given a clear outline of the trip ahead and a thorough safety briefing on embarking the boat. We have three children under 10, and the skipper and guide were clearly very used to children and communicated with them on their level enthusiastically, while at the same time never “dumbing down” any of the information given, of which there was a lot. But we didn’t feel bombarded by it either. Besides the trip itself (which was brilliant and the children haven’t stopped talking about it since) I was particularly impressed with the office, which isn’t swish but a lot of thought has gone into it. I liked the seal display, with its child-focused information at their eye level, and the more in-depth stuff a bit higher up. They think of everything, from the loo on the boat (a must if you are out there for 3 hours with kids), to the waterproofs they provide for everyone. And on top of that, they seemed to know exactly where to be looking on the day to give us the best chance of finding the sharks, porpoises, sunfish and seals which we saw.

This was a great experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is truly eco-friendly marine wildlife watching as the whole point is not to disturb the animals; we were lucky enough to spot some harbour porpoises but we stayed at a distance so as not to disturb them. It was fantastic to see them and the gannets feeding. The trip was a bit longer than 3 hours, because the staff were so committed to get us to see the porpoises which we only saw towards the end.
Be prepared with suitable clothing; they give you waterproof trousers and life vests, but even on a relatively warm day it can get really cold. Also you will need sunblock and sunglasses, even when it's cloudy.
35 pounds per adult.
The skipper was very knowledgeable and he seemed very committed to conservation. He had lots of information about all the different species we saw.

Obviously no sightings are guaranteed; we were really lucky to see a pod of porpoises, a sunfish and several grey seals... You will definitely see some seabirds and, if it's nice weather, enjoy the sea and the beautiful scenery.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marine Discovery also viewed

 

Been to Marine Discovery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing