We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely atmosphere, cosy & comfy room, staff couldnt do enough for us”
Review of The Dolphin Tavern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dolphin Tavern
Ranked #11 of 81 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bude Cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely atmosphere, cosy & comfy room, staff couldnt do enough for us”
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We stayed at The Dolphin over the weekend, the staff could not do enough for us and pride themselves in giving good customer service. The room was fresh, cosy, thee most comfiest bed to sleep in. The Dolphin has what we would call a great pub feel with lots of history to it and fulfills your needs and more. The food looks delicious and we will be returning to eat there soon when we are next in penzance. You can eat breakfast at anytime of the morning, they have good cider, wine and Real Ales. You can ask the staff for anything to help your stay more comfortable and we got the feeling they would help at anything. Nothing was a problem or too much trouble. I would recommend The Dolphin to anyone its a great pub next to the sea. Thank you to The Dolphin Staff for their hospitality and welcome.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabrielle_campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    70
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
33
144
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Great location (especially if you're taking the ferry to Scilly), great beer, great food. What more could you want? Breakfast was splendid and the staff friendly and accommodating.

I'll be back . . .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcg968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Wonderfully comfy bed and a view from the bedroom window out to the harbor and the Scillonian Ferry. Charming bar and very helpful staff. I had to leave before breakfast time so the cook made me a bacon sandwich for the road. I'd be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewgledhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed one night on our way to the Isles of Scilly. Booking was easy - staff very friendly and helpful by email and phone. Reception (at the bar) was warm and welcoming. Room was a delight - bed the second most comfortable we have ever slept in (after our own!), lovely clean, modern but calming decor. Dinner was first rate (great choice of original and traditional fare) and breakfast was the perfect start to the day. Glad to say it did not reappear on the Scillonian crossing!!! On our way back from the Islands we made a brief stop off for drinks and cheesy chips before heading home on the Night Riviera Sleeper. Thoroughly recommended especially as stopover for the Scillonian - boarding approximately 100 metres from Tavern. Thank you Bertie et al.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrannieBBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Found this place on laterooms and stayed for one night. Its in an ideal spot for shops restaurants, other pubs and also overlooks the harbour where trips go over to the Isles of Scilly. The Dolphin only has two rooms to let, but they are very modern and up to date. The pub itself is around 500 year old. It was the ideal place to stay then visit one or two other pubs then back to the Dolphin, where the staff, who are all very friendly and approachable, booked us a nicely placed table for a meal, and gave us 20% off for being residents. Best of all, no taxi home! We have booked again for one night in December.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunchofwhiteroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

An interesting old public house, with a very busy bar and restaurant serving excellent food.
Two very well appointed and comfortable double bedrooms, with views of the harbour,
but the only drawback is the very early morning activity on the quay. Though the public house is convenient for the boat at 9am.
We were well looked after by the owner and his wife, with an ample cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandycarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Having stayed here last year on the way back from the scilly isles, we had no hesitation in booking again for 2010.
We stayed one night each way this time and the staff were a credit to the Dolphin Tavern once again.
We checked in, shown to our room, asked if we'd like to book a table for a evening meal which we did and told when ready just order at the bar.
The food is great, plenty of choice and plenty of it all served with a smile.
Sitting outside watching the world go by is a delight if you get the weather.
If you did'nt want to eat there, there's plenty more restaurants and pubs nearby.
The rooms are of good size and as said in other reviews, nice views of the harbour .
Comfy beds and all the usual tea, tv, en-suite etc..
The breakfasts? In a word, you wont go hungry!
Try the baquettes, filled with whatever you want from the list, absoloutley gorgeous.
Healthy options available if you must, sorry prefer ;)
You wont go wrong staying here, relax, enjoy and above all, do stay again.
We'll be back 2011.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodandKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#7 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 81 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Tavern

Property: The Dolphin Tavern
Address: Quay Street, Penzance TR18 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dolphin Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Dolphin Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Tavern Hotel Penzance
The Dolphin Tavern Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing