We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dolphin Tavern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dolphin Tavern
Ranked #11 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Didnt stay at the Dolphin,just went in for food.Quality and quantity were excellent.I had the sizzling steak and it was beautiful.All other food I saw being served looked equally tasty.Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ned d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    65
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
31
136
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We arrived after a long day walking from Portcurnho. On our way to the Dolphin we walked along the sea front of Penazance. The wind was blowing the sea in waves over the pavement and even the road.

I'm coming to the point now. The room we had booked was a big double bedroom with a big en-suite bathroom, both refurbished to a very good standard. The restaurant was busy from check-in until closing. Even though it was busy we got a table reserved.
There was broad variety of local fished sea food and meat or veggi dishes offered on the menu. The food was complemented by a selection of local beers and great service.

If you get a table on a window you might even enjoy splashing waves on the windows on a windy day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wkluge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
370 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed the one night in the Dolphin and received a warm relaxing welcome , very nice spacious room overlooking the harbour. The bathroom was perfectly ok on appearence but soon as a tap was run a horrendous noise emerged which we discovered was the Saniloo shredder ! The contraption made a horrendous racket every time water was run in the bathroom and the loo was used , a slightly blocked basin sink probably didn't help . To be fair it didn't disturb a very good nights sleep but we could hear the adjoining rooms Saniloo when it went off . Good pub , we ate out and breakfast was ok nothing more but huge portions . Would recommend the Dolphin for a stay particularly if you're taking the Isle of Scilly boat , and staff very friendly .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick7p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viareggio, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We arrived in Penzance on the 11 and 12 March 2013 in rainy and windy weather. We don't care for large hotels and prefer traditional British inns, B&B's and pubs with a strong local touch. We stayed two nights at the Dolphin Tavern, with a view on Penzance harbour, and found the people there particulary welcoming and friendly. The room was quiet, cosy, and clean with a comfortable bed. Breakfast included a generous choice of food from juice to yogurt, toast, and of course the full Cornish/ English breakfast. It was served in the pub, a 500 year old historic house full of atmosphere.. As far as rates are concerned, the Dolphin offers an excellent price-quality value so I strongly recommend it to visitors touring the area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foreveramber51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Good Food well cooked and presented. Good menu. Good Value. staff friendly ( Pets allowed, must be kept on a lead.). For holiday makers it is near the town centre of Penzance. Don't know what else to say to bring it up to the 200 character minimum required by trip advisor. We would go there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Called in at the Dolphin the day before we had our meal. Only called for a quick drink but as we received such a nice welcome and also after perusing the menu we decided to eat the next day.
Exactly the same nice welcome and the food lived up to it's billing. We had the slow cooked belly pork, off the "specials" board, and the mushroom sizzler. Both were excellent.
Brilliant service, we were asked if we would like another drink when the meal arrived and this was brought to the table.
Would highly recommend and if the accommodation is half as good as the food and service there would certainly be a lot worse places to stay on a break to Penzance. Not to mention the seafront location.
Overall highly impressed .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buxton108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay in the family room at the Dolphin Tavern for a couple of nights, the rooms are large and modern they are furnished to the highest standard, with fantastic views of the boats in the harbour and the bed is one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in! The breakfast was fabulous and nothing was too much trouble for the hosts and their staff, who were more than happy to give us directions to places in the area we could visit with our children. We also ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was to a very high standard I would particularly recommend the sizzler! I would have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone and we have already booked to come back next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TIMOTHY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#6 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 87 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Tavern

Property: The Dolphin Tavern
Address: Quay Street, Penzance TR18 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dolphin Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Dolphin Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Tavern Hotel Penzance
The Dolphin Tavern Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing