We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and food”
Review of The Dolphin Tavern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dolphin Tavern
Ranked #11 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great location and food”
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Stayed at the Dolphin for 2 nights in May 2011 before getting the helicopter over to the Scillies. The room was great, although the saniflow plumbing was very noisy and did wake me in the night when the other guests went to the toilet. This aside the Dolphin was a great place to stay and we were very impressed with the food (breakfast and evening meals). During our brief stay we visited Lands Ends & Sennen cove, Levant Mine & Beam engine and Porthcuno telegraph museum. We also managed to fit in a trip to St Michaels Mount before catching the helicopter to St Mary’s.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penfold63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    73
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
36
155
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Room was perfect, as was everything else about the place. We walked from the train station, staff were very helpful & welcoming. Breakfast was wonderful as was our meal before we headed home. I'm sure we will we return when we plan to explore more. Went to Lands Ends & Sennen cove followed by a lovely walk down the coast to Marazion to visit the Beautiful St Michaels Mount. Only wish we were able to stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pammie3Steaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Picked this because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor, are we glad we did!! Had a really marvellous 4 day break, room was brilliant, very large plus a kingsize bed that was exceptionally comfortable, as good as the bed in the Shangri La in Sydney, for a fraction of the price!! We ended up eating in the pub every evening, we normally like to try somewhere different each night, but were so impressed the first night we didn't bother trying anywhere else. My brother visited us from Truro one evening and he was equally impressed with the food. The staff were all brilliant too, well done Richard, Siobhan & co. Location was great, 10 minutes walk from train and bus station and right opposite the quay from which the Scilly Isle boat sails. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggiemayDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Excellent, charming, full of sea spirit and fresh food along with good beers. Chefs are great and Big Berty in the bar always makes you comfy and expecting a good time in the Dolphin tavern.
Its location is not letting you miss the Scilly Isles trip, as big ship stops just across the street, next to the pirate bar. Look thoroughly and you will find little pirate shop at the very old ship, while wambling to the Scilly Isles trip.

Be sure you play billiard in the back room and try monster lobster, recommended by Big Berty, this would bring peace into your soul. Summer nights just outside were marvelous. I would recommend all my friends to go there and stay for fun, or family vacation or for a honeymoon!

Dolphin Tavern team, thank you so much! Cheers!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyBusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude Cornwall
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We stayed at The Dolphin over the weekend, the staff could not do enough for us and pride themselves in giving good customer service. The room was fresh, cosy, thee most comfiest bed to sleep in. The Dolphin has what we would call a great pub feel with lots of history to it and fulfills your needs and more. The food looks delicious and we will be returning to eat there soon when we are next in penzance. You can eat breakfast at anytime of the morning, they have good cider, wine and Real Ales. You can ask the staff for anything to help your stay more comfortable and we got the feeling they would help at anything. Nothing was a problem or too much trouble. I would recommend The Dolphin to anyone its a great pub next to the sea. Thank you to The Dolphin Staff for their hospitality and welcome.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabrielle_campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Great location (especially if you're taking the ferry to Scilly), great beer, great food. What more could you want? Breakfast was splendid and the staff friendly and accommodating.

I'll be back . . .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcg968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Wonderfully comfy bed and a view from the bedroom window out to the harbor and the Scillonian Ferry. Charming bar and very helpful staff. I had to leave before breakfast time so the cook made me a bacon sandwich for the road. I'd be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewgledhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#7 of 82 in Penzance
556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#62 of 82 in Penzance
262 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Dock Inn
The Dock Inn
#33 of 82 in Penzance
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Tavern

Property: The Dolphin Tavern
Address: Quay Street, Penzance TR18 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dolphin Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dolphin Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Tavern Hotel Penzance
The Dolphin Tavern Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing