We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oldest Pub in Penzance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Turks Head

The Turks Head
Ranked #9 of 178 Restaurants in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Oldest Pub in Penzance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Had a lovely fish and chip dinner at the oldest pub in Penzance. The batter on the fish was light and tasty and the haddock was cooked perfectly, dinner was served on a wooden board. Nice atmosphere and friendly staff. Good menu choice available. You can choose whether to eat in the bar or restaurant area. Pub is situated in Chapel Street which has some interesting, historical buildings.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DawnEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    214
    69
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great for lunchtime”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We took my wife's mother here to celebrate her birthday. There is a good choice on the menu from light bites and sandwiches to full meals. There is also a daily specials board which widens the choice as well. The old world atmosphere adds charm to the experience and there is a choice between eating in the bar with views out on to Chapel Street - a fascinating street to explore with its Egyptian House etc., or the restaurant.
We opted for the Mariners Pie which was excellent and mother opted fror the fish and chips which was freshly cooked with hand cut chips - all very good.
The pub can get quite busy as we noticed and all meals are freshly cooked, so there can be a wait, but it's well worth it as the meals are all very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cornishsnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm welcome at historic pub for Sunday roast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Ann & I visited the Turks Head again yesterday as we like the cosy relaxing atmosphere and friendly staff. We enjoyed generous portions of succulent homemade nut roast with crispy roast potatoes & a good selection of fresh vegetables; and especially liked the delicious homemade cinnamon ice cream. The service was excellent, and we would recommend the Turks Head to both visitors and locals alike.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“welcoming Inn serving first class food, wines and ales.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

A small party of us attended this busy and popular Inn for an evening out. The welcome and service provided by the very professional staff made us feel very much at home. I had heard that a new chef with an enviable reputation had just been employed and this was a good chance to see how his credentials stood up. We were not disappointed. The food was excellent far above what you would normally expect from a public house. Although very busy the service was timely, informative and very friendly. I could clearly hear from the neighbouring tables that fellow diners were also very impressed. If you are visiting Penzance, this is a must foodery that is just too good to be missed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunchtime treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Having visited The Turks Head on many occasions, but not for a while, we yet again had amazing food. Food arrived promptly and was beautifully presented and as always the staff are always friendly and take time to give you their full attention. Not having been for a while, we loved the new menu, but still with some old favourites. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turks Head also viewed

 

Been to The Turks Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing