We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday evening with a surprise.”
Review of The Turks Head

The Turks Head
Ranked #9 of 181 Restaurants in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Sunday evening with a surprise.”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We've been using the Turks Head for nearly 25 years and on average pop in for a drink about every 3 weeks and a meal less often but fairly regularly. On Sunday 20 Jan we had driven all the way from London to arrive in a cold house with no food, but we're always sure of a warm welcome at the Turks. On this occasion the roaring fire was really welcome as it was freezing outdoors.

We ordered a bottle of Argentinian Malbec and settled ourselves in the corner to await our meal. It was only then that we realised that there was to be a charity quiz night at 8.30pm. Our pork loin chops were nicely cooked and the red cabbage and celeriac mash were seriously delicious. Fortunately we'd finished eating before the quiz started and were able to join in. Sensible questions, not too many about pop music or TV characters/programmes, lots of general knowledge. Really enjoyed it even if we came last - but then, we were a team of 2 taking on the big guns who had up to 6 members in their teams, but the atmosphere was very friendly. We did pick at a shared cheeseboard whilst the quiz proceeded and it had some lush cheeses on it including several local varieties.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PattiP_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turkshead40, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks for joining in with the quiz, it usually is the unexpected evening that are always the best, try again for the top prize on the 17th February. Hope to see you again soon. xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    219
    70
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lovely old-fashioned pub”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

great combination of pub & restaurant. wide choice on menu, excellent food at reasonable prices, friendly atmosphere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turkshead40, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks guy's lovely to hear you liked the Turks Head.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Cosy, friendly pub. Good steak”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Small, cosy, friendly pub/restaurant on the interesting Chapel Street in the centre of Penzance. I had a small (6oz) 28 day matured Cornish rump steak and chips, with a brandy & blue cheese sauce. The steak was good, and it was nice to have the option of ordering a small one (8oz also available) if you are not so hungry. The sauce was very tasty, and there was plenty of it, but at £3.50 (nearly one-third of the price of the steak itself) seemed a little over-priced. I liked the cosy atmosphere, and it was quite busy despite being a mid-week evening at the end of November. It seems to work well as both a pub and a restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Highrise61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turkshead40, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks for putting up a review for us it's great to hear you had a great meal, I'm sorry you were charged £3.50 for a steak sauce I have checked all our menus and the till as our steak sauces are £2.95 and can not find any thing that say's differently I can only apologies, please don't let this
put you off coming again, your sauce is on the house! We do like to think of ourselves as a pub that does good food and not a restaurant that serves real ale. Thanks again for taking the time for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb food and service!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Excellent! it is very nice to see a pub as it should be-lovely and full of nooks ! Lovely food and wonderful service by our waitress Sophie!x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Max170371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turkshead40, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks for the review it made Sophie's day, we are very fond of our pub but its always nice to hear that others do too. See you again hopefully in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful friendly pub!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was my second visit to the Turks Head and both times have been hugely pleasurable. The staff are super-friendly, giving helpful & efficient service, and the food - on both occasions -was excellent value, well prepared & presented and delicious. Highlights were the homemade syrup tart (we're fussy about our syrup tarts! This one was perfect) and the ginormous crispy onion rings that came with good steaks. We sat in a comfortable cushioned booth near the front enjoying the cosy atmosphere of this traditional pub. We'll be back next time we go pirate-spotting!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turks Head also viewed

 

Been to The Turks Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing