We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful homely B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Waves B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Waves B&B
Ranked #74 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
coventry
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a wonderful homely B&B”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Have stayed here on numerous occasions whilst travelling around Cornwall and have always received a very warm welcome from Martin and Bernie. Lovely clean rooms and a wonderful breakfast. Location is superb, local amenities at hand and great bar next door - we will be back

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    14
    9
    2
    9
See reviews for
18
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We intially stayed here in 2009 and felt so strongly about how good it was that we wrote our first ever review. We were apprehensive about returning to the same place twice, as it's usually never the same the second time round, but the Sea Waves proved the exception.

We booked the Sea View room, and what a view; the hotel is on the promenade, so the view is uninterrupted, unlike some "sea view" hotels where the view is from miles away looking over roof tops. The room was spotlessly clean, well equipped and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was to die for - we must have put on 2 stone each.

Once again, Martin and Bernie were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble. They advised us on where to go and what to see, and spent time with us, helping organise our days.

The weather wasn't great, but Martin & Bernie have no control over that, and it didn't spoil our second great trip to Devon & Cornwall, & in particular to Penzance.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeatoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We booked in for 4 nights, being misguided by the website description and expecting a room with a sea view. Instead we were overlooking a much less than attractive backyard. The room was minescule and we had to leave the door of the bathroom open to lean over the sink to clean our teeth.

Everything in the room was of really poor quality (albeit clean). As a previous visitor said, it lacked basic amenities such as side tables and lamps, probably because there was no space!! The breakfast was almost uneatable, out of a box no-name orange juice, sliced white bread, tinned tomatoes and no-name baked beans,frozen hash browns and insipid looking eggs which were almost certainly not free-range. All in all, poor and cheapskate. There are some wonderful B&B's in the area which serve all local produce with the greatest of pride. Unfortunately Sea Waves was not one of them.

We decided before we went to bed that we couldn't stand another 3 nights there, so told the landlady immediately. When asked what was the balance owed for our room for the night, they asked for full payment for the 4 nights. We pointed out that the accommodation was poor and the food was poor and we couldn't stay there. The landlord threatened us with the police but backed off when we invited him to go ahead and ring them. We ended up giving them slightly over the price of one night , but when we walked out the landlord swore at my husband.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Madrongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Very basic attic room, which was also used for storage. The staircase leading up to the room is very narrow and difficult to use when carying luggage and my partner did fall down the stairs one night due to insufficient lighting. The room was also cold the tiny electric heater did not give out ample heating. The guest house was very noisy at night with other guests using showers after the cut off time of 10.30pm. The shared bathroom was clean but a mixer tap shower is not really sufficient.

The freeview television was tempremental in sound and some channels were blocked, we are yet to find the hairdryer and internet connection!!!

The breakfasts were eatable but fter the 3rd and 4th morning we declined as the plastic sausages were too much to bare, the sea view is the only saving grace of this B&B. For the price we paid we feel we were robbed! 3 * rating needs reveiwed!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andria77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed at Sea Waves for a short getaway, the service was great Martin and Bernie were very welcoming and helped out with directions to all the local tourist places. A great location on the sea front, short walk from local shops. The pub next door is great for a carvary and there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance.
The room was clean and tidy, as were the bathroom facilities, our room was very comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. We had a cooked breakfast every morning which was lovely. Over all a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine8672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I stayed here with my partner and found it a lovely and friendly place.
Martin & Bernie were there every morning greeting us with breakfast which was always enough to last you through to dinner time.
The rooms were big enough for us two and the beds were comfy enough to have a good nights sleep.
Bathrooms were always clean and if you needed anything, they dont make it awkward for you to ask.
I would definitely use this B&B again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Smashing location for a stay, the lugger next door for a drink and carvery,chip shop round the corner, all locations which you need to see whithin easy reach.
Ensuite rooms clean with drink making facilites,breakfasts to set you up for the day, Martin.Berni excelent hosts, all in all an excelent place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank storer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.3 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#32 of 87 in Penzance
50 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Longboat Hotel
The Longboat Hotel
#54 of 87 in Penzance
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#9 of 87 in Penzance
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#38 of 87 in Penzance
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#70 of 87 in Penzance
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
The Guest Lodge Penzance
#68 of 87 in Penzance
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Waves B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Waves B&B

Property: Sea Waves B&B
Address: 4 Marine Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Waves B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Waves B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Waves B&B Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing