We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great garden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trengwainton Garden

Trengwainton Garden
Ranked #5 of 63 things to do in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

A lovely, structured, garden, with discreet areas of planting. The view from the terrace area is spectacular, and some of the blue hydrangeas have to be seen to be believed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David8Strings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    154
    38
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Pretty average gardens”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We must have visited at a bad time because quite honestly there was not an awful lot to see, the kitchen garden needed a lot of attention and many of the beds needed clearing and replanting. Being keen gardeners it was sad to see so much being left to it's own devices,where, with some time and energy things could be so much better. There seemed to be many people whom we assumed to be gardeners milling around but not actually doing much gardening, as I say it may just have been a bad time. There were some interesting tree ferns and plants not native to the UK and the scarecrows were a nice touch for children but a lot of the gardens were past their best and I think a visit during Spring or early Summer would put a different complexion on things and there would be a lot more colour and interest. That said you still pay the same entrance fee whatever the season.
The tea rooms are nice with lovely cakes as always at a NT property.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cymraes191267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Always different things to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

It's on our doorstep so we visit reulary as members of the NT. But we never get tired of the differing colours that change with the seasons. Lovely walks and views and, of course, fabulous food in the cafe.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank harrysafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting kitchen garden”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The kitchen garden with its sloping beds and scarecrow competition was interesting to look round. The remainder of the gardens had some impressive tree ferns though was mostly woodland walks. For a fan of herbaceous borders this was therefore not my preferred planting, hence the average score.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoiedeVivreCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“TRENGWAINTON TREASURE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Trengwainton is a unique garden, perhaps favoured for the cultivation of exotic trees and shrubs than any other on mainland Britain. The walled garden in particular contains many species which cannot be grown in the open anywhere else in the country. It is an intimate and sensual garden closely linked to the stream which runs through its valley and packed cheek by jowl with wonderful colourful plants making it a pleasure to look at and walk beside.

The garden leads up to a fine terrace with white painted summer houses at each end and with splended views of Mount's Bay and The Lizard.

The Tea room I would recommend they do a lovely coffee frappe and wonderful coffee and walnut cake.

If you like gardens then this is one to visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trengwainton Garden also viewed

 

Been to Trengwainton Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing