We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to the 80`s or even 70`s.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carnson House

Carnson House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carnson House
Ranked #63 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Back to the 80`s or even 70`s.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

It has been many years since this `place` was updated. Even the breakfast was cold and covered in grease. If we hadn`t have pre booked and paid £65 in advance we would not have stayed. Home from home, NEVER in a million years..........

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    21
    10
    5
    9
See reviews for
10
32
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
439 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Carnson House is a great B&B in a good location at one end of town opposite the railway station. Parking is an issue however we found it reasonably inexpensive to park at the railway station paying for 4 days in advance. Forget parking during the day but getting back in the evening after a day out, finding a parking place was not a problem, even over the easter weekend. Our room was very small but adequate and very clean. Beds were soft but comfortable and getting a good nights sleep was not a problem. Our bathroom was opposite our room, but we were aware of this prior to booking so it wasn't an issue. The owners were brilliant, very friendly and only to happy to assist with advice or directions, or just to have a chat over breakfast. Breakfast was very good with ample selection from a full cooked English breakfast, to simple cereal and toast. Laundromat is a couple of doors away so very convenient for washing travel clothes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronp1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinghorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

fantastic small family run hotel. Rob and Belinda are the perfect hosts, could not fault them in any way.hotel is opposite the rail station which was a godsend as my wife is disabled. close to all shops and ammenities.500 yards to marina and beach.perfect for long hliday or short break.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimfraser_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Very pleasant stay. The room was clean and and had en suite shower. Breakfast was good and there was a nice friendly atmosphere.

Great location for those arriving by train as its adjacent to the station.

The only down side being that there is no view as the hotel looks out on to the side of the station building. If I had taken the trouble to Google map the area beforehand I would have known that.

Don't let that put you off though as its located perfectly for those wanting to explore Penzance on foot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank channelviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Carnson House Hotel every time we visit West Cornwall and every year for the last four years. We are never disappointed. Rob & Belinda are great hosts, always helpful. Rooms we have used are clean and well maintained. Breakfast is always good. The central situation for access to transport and attractions couldn't be better. I continue to recommend this hotel to friends wanting to visit Penzance and West Cornwall.

Room Tip: Choose an en suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornwallMightymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
691 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

We found them on the internet and were very pleased with our choice. We had a room on the ground floor with an en-suite. The room & bathroom were quite small but had everything you needed in them. Rob & Belinda were very friendly and helped us with information and parking. Breakfast was lovely and the bed & breakfast is in a great location, right across the street from the train station.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

After reading some of the reviews we were a bit dubious about going there but i can honestly say our fears were groundless. The room was on the groundfloor with an en-suite. Both were clean and the bed was comfortable. More than one choice for breakfast. All cooked well. Both Rob and Belinda were very friendly and helpful. We would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.6 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Longboat Hotel
The Longboat Hotel
#54 of 87 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dolphin Tavern
The Dolphin Tavern
#11 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#33 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#72 of 87 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#10 of 87 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnson House

Property: Carnson House
Address: 2 East Terrace, Penzance TR18 2TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnson House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Carnson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnson House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing