We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Dog Food"” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Longboat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Longboat Hotel
Ranked #53 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
Penzance
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“"Dog Food"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Recently this hotel has started to focus more on food and have been offering cheap meals throughout the week for Monday night being "spice" night. Me and my partner went here for a curry, okay we were not spending a great deal but I can only describe it as dog food. Cheap and nasty and most definately not cooked, more like something out of a tin. We complained to the bar staff and they did not offer us a different dish or a refund so we politely paid and left promptly so not to cause a scene. However since the customer is always right, had they apologised or got us something else, we would of probably went back to try other things on the menu but now we have just been telling our friends not to go there as they didnt seem to really care what we thought. Disappointed as this used to be a lively friendly pub in pz but has gone downhill of late.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmPZ1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    72
    47
    19
    17
See reviews for
36
96
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We twelve Westcombe Park Rugby Club supporters stayed for two nights in Penzance and went on the train to Redruth for the match. Ideally situated right near to the station the public areas of the hotel were clean and well maintained. All the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were also clean and had good size en-suite faclities. After the match we decided to head back to Penzance and to eat back at the hotel. We ate in a large private room. The waiter was first rate and most helpful - not easy with a party of twelve rugby supporters - the food, beer and wine were enjoyed by us all. We would recommend the Longboat Inn for anyone wishing to visit this beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterHeath7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We got into Penzance at about 9 in the evening on the train so it was lovely to see the Longboat just round the corner from the station. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The communal room upstairs with cushy sofas and huge window really had the wow factor. You can see the sea as both the hotel and the train station are really close to the seafront. The sunlight was streaming in in the morning, it was lovely. The breakfast was just divine and everyone was really friendly. The hotel is also positioned at the bottom of the main shopping street so it is ideally located for a trip to Penzance. Thank you Longboat for a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

My husband and I had a 4 night break at the end of Feb 2012. The staff are welcoming, cannot do enough for you and the food was lovely. As my husband is Gluten intolerant this was a concern prior to arrival but the Chef and staff were happy to check and adapt things for him. They are a great bunch and we will be going back.
They no longer open till 2:00 am so we had no problems with noise.
This is a clean, friendly well placed Hotel that I would have no hesitation recomending to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

I and my wife stayed for 2 nigts after Christmas Dec 2011. The hotel staff is showing very warm, helpful and professional servicing attiudes. For staying in Penzance, Longboat is very conveniently located, and on the first floor common sitting area, the hotel has a very nice harbour view. The Cornish morning breakfast is very enjoyable. The room is clean and tidy and spacious for couples, and gave me a fresh feeling when I return to the room. Also the price (inclusive of the breakfast) is very value-justified. The dinner (together with the bar services) is very good and enjoyable under the wooden-wall-decorated bar/dining room.

Room Tip: look for a upper floor in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chowkwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed here thu until tue over the Xmas period. The hotel staff were very nice. Food very good. Good choice of menus plus various days special food nights eg curry night , steak night etc. Very reasonable prices. Nothing was any trouble. Rooms were well clean , towels changed etc. Right on centre of Penzance. Ideal for train, bus, shops etc. Plenty of off street parking. One street away. Landrette next door and sweet shop five shops away. Ideal. So get on and book. We had a fab Christmas. Don't read The bad silly comments. We didn't have any of those problems.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villeneuve d'Aveyron France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

I managed to overcome the drone of the radiator outside my room but then the very loud talking started ,evidently from the pub garden I was told next morning and that no-one else had ever complained of that room. Needless to say I'd lost my appetite and didn't stop for breakfast Also the evening meal had been the most greasy unappetising spaghetti bolonese which is easy enough to make.I had paid £60 for a double room as there were no singles available

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valdy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.6 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dolphin Tavern
The Dolphin Tavern
#11 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#36 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#72 of 87 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carnson House
Carnson House
#63 of 87 in Penzance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Yacht Inn
The Yacht Inn
#29 of 87 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longboat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longboat Hotel

Property: The Longboat Hotel
Address: Market Jew Street, Penzance TR18 2HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Longboat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Longboat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longboat Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing