We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely New Cafe - Such Good Value and Tasty Food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
YMCA Cornwall International House
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We went to the YMCA in Penzance for lunch as we had heard about the new Cafe. We were very impressed. It is bright and light with a garden outside. The food is very good we both had home made fish cakes, chips and salad and there is lots of choice on the menu and specials board. A full English Breakfast is only £3.50 which must be the best deal in town. Lovely coffee and cake.

The staff are very friendly and working hard to make this a success. They hope to serve evening meals in the future. There is also free Wifi and parking.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charlieCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for YMCA Cornwall International House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 41 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2011

First time I stay in YMCA! very cheep with good positions for seaside. As Macdonads say, I'l lovin it! Hope too come back very soon.Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PagsBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzi C, General Manager at YMCA Cornwall International House, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will think about visiting us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Very nice and lovely staff - very nice location and plenty of stuff to do in the surrounding areas. A bit of a traditional hostel ( in the old sense of the word) but very homely nonetheless.

Breakfast is fairly basic but nice, but you can use the kitchen provided.

Nice pubs nearby.

Not too impressed with the showers though !

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dharam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy P, Manager at YMCA Cornwall International House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Hello,

Many thanks for your comments. Please keep your ears and eyes open in the coming future for details on bathroom upgrades here at YMCA Cornwall. Check out our webpage or facebook for more details :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

It is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. Clean room and bathrooms. Very helpful lady in the reception.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kasienka701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzi C, General Manager at YMCA Cornwall International House, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Many thanks for your kind review. Although some time has passed since you stayed with us last we hope that you will consider us again if you travel this way in the future. Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Good place to stay at the price. We were invited to Christmas lunch as they saw that we were going to be alone on Christmas day. They also left us a box of chocolates behind the door as a present. This was beyond a service with a smile I thought! Nice clean kitchen to cook in too. G.Rielly.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace888London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzi C, General Manager at YMCA Cornwall International House, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Many thanks for your review. Although it has been some time since you last stayed with us, we are happy that you took the time to review our hostel. We always welcome our guests with open arms and on special occasions, such as Christmas, want to make you feel as festive as possible too. Glad you enjoyed your stay :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
Thank BuongiornoUnive... .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MinlingChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.9 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
814 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
479 reviews
0.6 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#8 of 82 in Penzance
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Glencree House
Glencree House
#3 of 82 in Penzance
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penzance Backpackers
Penzance Backpackers
#7 of 19 in Penzance
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Penzance
YHA Penzance
#1 of 1 in Castle Horneck
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA Cornwall International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Cornwall International House

Address: The Orchard Alverton Road, Penzance TR18 4TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Penzance
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penzance YMCA Backpackers' Hostel offers comfortable, affordable overnight accommodation in a convenient location, perfect for exploring the local area and experiencing some of the best festivals and events in Cornwall, some of which take place right on our doorstep. The Hostel is situated at the YMCA Cornwall site in Penzance, within walking distance of major transport links and Penzance town centre. On site we have a laundry room, internet access and WIFI, tuck shop, pool/football tables, TV area, Sports Hall and Dance Studio. We look forward to seeing you there! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your YMCA Cornwall International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YMCA Cornwall International House Penzance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing