We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant rooms, lovely hosts!”
Review of Glencree House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glencree House
Ranked #3 of 81 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Brilliant rooms, lovely hosts!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Andrew and Lynsey are the perfect hosts in a fantastic Victorian establishment that has been renovated to the highest modern standards. 5 of us stayed in 3 rooms and all the rooms were spacious and very clean. The freshly cooked breakfasts were excellent and Andrew and Lynsey were very helpful in providing local maps and books. The place is well located near to the heart of town. We all felt very at home in this beautiful place and would not hesitate to stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P_Larua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    35
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
155
63
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

On a week's walking the coast path, I had a single room at Glencree booked on my behalf, so I knew nothing about the B and B, or the owners. From the outset (when I had to phone Andrew and say I had NO idea when I would arrive) he was extremely helpful and accomodating. The room was his smallest but I had the 'biggest' bathroom a short way down the corridor. This could have been a nuisance but, unlike other B and B's I was provided with a robe. Also, without hesitation, Soya milk. Breakfast lovely, freshly cooked, great ingredients. Packed lunch at extra cost on request. Also, a small point, but the soap provided was scrummy. Tiny bars but lovely smelling and beautifully foaming. Bed very comfy, telly, wifi to update the rellies, and........just around the corner; the promenade and fish and chip shop. Don't worry though, not noisy at all! Great stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were only able to spend one night here because they were booked up for the next night. We got the last double room which was on the very top floor. It had 2 beds which was perfect and the best towels I have ever had at a B & B. They smelled like flowers.
A wonderful English breakfast was serviced which was outstanding. The owner is very friendly and helpful. We used his recommendation for dinner.

Stay here if you can. It's close to the sea and not far from town.

Room Tip: Book in advance. Ask for 2 beds if there are 2 of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravler1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This B&B was run by Andrew and Lynsey - Andrew being an Aussie! We cound not fault this place - which had nothing to do with Andrew being Australian - lol! The 2 nights we had hear in April 2012 were exceptionally enjoyable. We had a brilliant room, I think we were upgraded to a higher spec room - 4 poster bed, bay window - extremely comfortable. This B&B was not only a brilliant place to stay, but Andrew and Lynsey are real "people persons" - they exhibited a genuine care and interest in their guests which is not common - many try, but not all succeed! Food - brilliant! Plenty of helpful advice. These guys and this place is exceptional - Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkq828487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Andrew is a great host, very welcoming and eager to help you out with infos and suggestions for dinner and trips. They put their heart and soul in the breakfast, so obviously I loved it! The room was big, pretty and warm. They are also very attentive with bio&energetic stuff without being obsessed, so you always feel comfortable and learn new habits (good!). Location is convenient, near the sea, easy to find and at a walking distance to the centre and to everything. Bonus: The packed lunch we asked for was delicious!
Overall, We had a great time!! I totally would go there if returning to Penzance!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pucix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
210 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

- Friendly and hospitality
- Comforable rooms
- Choice of different breakfasts
- quiet and beautiful area, nice front view of sea
- One minor disadvantage: more than 1 mile away from railway station

Room Tip: To ask for a room view sea view (if available)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is the kind of place that you hope a B&B will be but never, ever is. And when you find it and experience it, you really appreciate it. I don't think B & B is the right term for Glencree House, it's really a guesthouse in the proper sense of the word. You are treated warmly as a guest and you feel well looked after by people who enjoy and care about what they have chosen to do.

I can only re-iterate what other guests have said about Andrew and Lyndsey, they are a great team who put everything into making your stay there the best that it can be in every department. We arrived there early in the morning from the overnight sleeper from London to a room that was ready for us and the kind offer of breakfast. Andrew then helpfully furnished me with local maps, bus routes and several suggestions for the day ahead. Both myself and my 7 year old son loved Room 8 at the top of the house with a double and single bed and small but completely functional shower room. We slept deeply in comfy beds with good quality bedding and were nourished each day by an abundant, wholesome breakfast of our choice.

Andrew and Lyndseys' ethos seems to cast a lovely social feeling in the house too as the other guests and myself shared our daily discoveries and exploits over breakfast, all of us thoroughly enjoying the beauty of the area and the vast possibilities available to us in this special far flung corner of the UK.

I would recommend Glencree House to anyone without reservation, no matter how well travelled they were or what level of accommodation they were used to because it's so rare to find this. A warm and welcoming small family business, that more than fulfils a travellers needs with homely, inviting and thoughtful style at a very reasonable price that is offered to you from the heart.

Don't even think twice about staying there.

Room Tip: i'm sure each room has it's own character
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesley_jane65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 81 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#7 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencree House

Property: Glencree House
Address: 2 Mennaye Road, Penzance TR18 4NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glencree House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynsey and Andrew are your friendly & welcoming hosts in an elegant Victorian guesthouse situated in a peaceful & quiet location close to Penzance seafront and town centre. With its wealth of character and many original features, Glencree House echoes the romance of yesteryear, combined with the comfort and style of today. We have 7 bright, spacious, recently refurbished guest rooms configured as a mixture of single, twin, family and double rooms - one with a four-poster bed and some with sea views. All rooms are en-suite or have a private bathroom and are equipped with free wi-fi, TV and DVD player, DAB clock radio with iPod docking station, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities. Your guest lounge area is situated in the streaming sunshine of the bay window at the front of the house and is complete with a library of local information including pamphlets, books, maps and timetables. We are more than happy to sit with you for a few minutes to help plan your visit to West Cornwall. Glencree House is a short stroll to the main shopping & dining streets of Penzance, Penlee House with its gardens and cafe, the 1930's art deco open air lido, cinemas, museums and art galleries to mention a few. We are also conveniently located for the rail station, bus station, harbour and heliport for trips to the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glencree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glencree House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing