We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the "mugger"”
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lugger Hotel
Ranked #57 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This place is soooooo out dated it has to be seen to be believed! The wll paper was falling off the ceiling, no hot water at 7am or at 7pm! It is a comedian's dream joke about british sea side hotels from he 60's or 70's. The only thing that comes to mind is "Faulty Towers" only it's not funny when you've paid good money to stay there.
The food was O.K. but over priced, it was clean, the location REALLY IS the best thing about the place.
This placed is so run down. (eg: wallpaper falling off ceilings, ill laid carpets, and furniture that falls apart). My advice "don't waste your time and well earned money"
Could not sleep brcause of sea gulls squarking.

Room Tip: don't bother going there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earmuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugger H, Guest Relations Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for completing a review of our hotel we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, with regards to the lack of hot water this was for approximately 1 hour in the evening as the boiler over-ride button had responded to a short power cut, so no guests were without water for too long. We are in the middle of refurbishing the hotel as we were hit very badly by the storms in February, this we advertised on both our website front page & face-book, in the hope that our guests would understand, with regards to your comments about the seagulls being too noisy, I am sure that you can see that there is nothing we can do about that! Perhaps a break near the sea is not for you if you find the seagulls a nuisance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 208 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

Not a great place at all. Very old fashioned and it desperate need of an overhaul. Old threadbare carpets, rotten windows etc. The room was enormous and the ensuite clean but really not up to modern standards. Our room was also at the back and there was a noisy air con unit right outside which buzzed loudly all night; the single glazing did nothing to shut out the sound. It also stank throughout of stale cigarette smoke. The one redeeming feature is that it is in a good location, right on the seafront.

Room Tip: The triple room at the back is huge but the noisy air con unit outside makes it unsuitable for sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We love the staff and the location but, sadly we had a room that so needed refurbishing. The public areas are fine. The food was good. It is the rooms. New windows, carpets, showers and just about everything. However, we will return but, ask for a different room.

Room Tip: Do not got for a back room as the noise from the kitchen was loud. Pay more for a Seaview with the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldiehawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Its a bit pricey for the facilities that it offers..The hotel is quite old and rooms clearly reflects the age. They have kept it clean though and all the towels and bed are very clean. Location is about 10mins walk from the station and is very near to the high street.
Breakfast and other items are priced high. Had to spent 5 pounds for a small bowl of fruit salad.
The best part is the staff. They are really friendly and answers any questions that you have without showing any discomfort.

So overall its not a bad place to stay for a short break in Penzance.

Room Tip: Call them before you book and ask about the room and other discount options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandeep J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel on the 18/04 with the family, unfortunately.
The room was overall very bad, with old settings, with bad smell and completely run down, the carpet was so dirty that I just couldn't stay without shoes on to give and idea.
The bed and towels were clean and the staff was friendly.
Certainly won't stay there again.




Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Jicaborga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The location cannot be faulted however, this must be the only justification for the price. Some of the money could do with being invested on the place and maybe some staff training would be a good idea.
Whilst I don't expect staff to have attended charm school, basic manners and a smile now and again, would be the minimum you would expect.
The place is a bit dated and in need of some serious TLC however, given the current financial climate I can accept that not much can be done.
Having read other reviews, it would seem the 'birds nest' is the room of legend.
The constant 'drain' smell can be minimised by putting the plug in both bath and sink.
The restaurant could do with a basic clean in some areas as it would appear it has been neglected over months as cobwebs could be seen.
Fire doors that are supposed to be kept closed are pegged open.
Was disappointed to find that certain breakfast items were limited to full fat milk, butter and white bread.
Staff were even late one morning to make breakfast whilst we were waiting in the foyer for them to arrive. This is something I can accept as accidents happen, but the incident just sums the place up.
Disco nights are advertised on flyers for the hotel (nothing wrong with that) and 'lads' eating burgers and chips with a pint outside are regular fixtures.
All in all, the location is great however the hotel's basic standards fall well below the minimum expected for such a high price that is charged.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fergus_Dudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Lugger for a week, leaving the day after Boxing Day. Our room was large and clean and had an amazing view of the sea. The night of the highest waves -- Dec. 23. -- this view was spectacular as the surf reached all the way to our second floor window. The room also had comfortable beds and great thick towels and very good heat. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and to make sure we were comfortable. Breakfast each morning was made to our individual likings. The Christmas Carvery was wonderful, as was the atmosphere that surrounded all the holiday events held in the restaurant at the Lugger. One suggestion would be to make part of the ground floor into a lounge/parlor so guests could have a place to sit and read and socialize outside of the restaurant/bar. Again, kudos to an amazing staff.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KSdoc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#64 of 82 in Penzance
276 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fountain Tavern
The Fountain Tavern
#70 of 82 in Penzance
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#76 of 82 in Penzance
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dolphin Tavern
The Dolphin Tavern
#12 of 82 in Penzance
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#56 of 82 in Penzance
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Address: The Promenade 3 Marine Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: $87 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lugger Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Penzance
The Lugger Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing