We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No matter how desperate you are, the car is a better option!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lugger Hotel
Ranked #67 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
Worcester Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No matter how desperate you are, the car is a better option!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I need add no more really but feel I must. The curtains were hanging off the rail, there was no hot water, the smell of dope in the hallway was overwhelming as was the music coming from the room next door. We had on checking in, paid extra for the breakfast and when the milk arrived to go with the tea there were bits of black just floating on the surface, not sure what they were and tried not to think about it too much as we were starving having had a 6 hour drive the day before and missing dinner (which I am now grateful for). Not a place I would recommend to anyone. How does it keep going, surely there must be hygiene checks from some authority?

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 570SarahB570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    44
    28
    38
    35
See reviews for
46
75
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Myself and my partner had booked this a few months ago as part of a mini tour of cornwall.
We arrived early and our room was ready, however we were greeted with " I see you have booked a budget room" we were taken to room no 7, a dingy room that smelt musky, that looked unclean and very outdated, The window was broken it was freezing cold, and the shower was situated in the corner of the room in a cupboard that also was unclean.
The view was awful which I can only describe as overlooking a shanty town.
The tea and coffee were a cheap brand which is ok, however when I came to make a coffee the next morning, the milk had gone all bitty, leaving white clumps, totally undrinkable.
Extremely overpriced down to the burger and chips which we were charged 10.95 for, staff shirty and unhelpful.

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in and I have stayed in a few.

Awful place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wills123795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Penzance hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Booked in advance a double room. On arrival got told it was a budget room that was a twin room. No breakfast included which was disappointing. The room was so outdated I thought I was still in the 80's. The furniture and fittings were ancient and even the tea bags were budget! It felt as if the hotel wanted to squeeze as much money as they could out of you for the minimum return of overall quality! So, the room was abysmal and crying for a BASIC make over, Even the free WiFi never worked, The food in the the bar was so overpriced, One staff member was interested more in a phone call than me waiting at the bar! Seriously this place is falling to bits and they charge so much! This is the first hotel review I have written amd and im not usually that fussy but I would rather sleep in a tip than this place very very poor, outdated and astronomically priced! 1000% Stay away!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robspur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We booked a room at this hotel to avoid an early start as we were catching the Scillionian on Monday morning.

The room was basic, the staff were unhelpful, it was noisy with 'comings & goings' until 3am and expensive - £70 for room only!!

We arrived at around 7.30pm and booked in with a very abrupt young lady who came from behind the bar as no one was around at the office.. She handed us a key and then left us to find our own way to the room.

We went down and sat outside to enjoy a drink but then on retiring to our room at around 9.30pm, my husband was going to make a hot drink when it appeared that the kettle didn't work. A replacement was found after a trip down to the bar and a wait of around 20 minutes.

Not a hotel we would ever stay at again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Friend145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeking only the best
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel needs money spent to bring it into this century. However, it was clean and a good location. Steve, and Ruth could not do enough to help us. It is a party hotel with lots going on which we really liked. Parking is a problem with limited space. For what we were charged we could not complain. We would recommend this hotel for just a couple of nights stay. The food is good also. The carvery is £10.50 each bit on the expensive side but, again good.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldiehawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very expensive for a distinctly average room. Breakfast was extra too! Just don't bother booking here, there are better places to stay in Penzance. The only positive is that they allowed our dog to stay too.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank percyp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The room was awful, mostly due to a horrendous eggy sulphur smell every time the toilet was flushed, which lingered in the room for ages. It made me feel sick at night, couldn't sleep. When we told the hotel they didn't bat an eyelid. Got the impression they knew about it but just took the money off people anyway. Expensive room for such grossness. Also tv didn't work and there was hair in the plughole in the bath and sink. The bath was a nightmare as I didn't want to have a sit-down bath (the hair kinda made it seem unclean) but the shower attachment was a hand-held jobby and only came up to my chest which meant I had to squat. My hardcore travelling days are over man, and even if I did decide to live that roughing-it life again..... I wouldn't be spending 85 quid to do so. Absolute joke.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bedbughop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#72 of 87 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Tavern
The Dolphin Tavern
#11 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Yacht Inn
The Yacht Inn
#25 of 87 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Longboat Hotel
The Longboat Hotel
#54 of 87 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 87 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Property: The Lugger Hotel
Address: The Promenade 3 Marine Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lugger Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Penzance
The Lugger Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing